Short Movie for Steemit Travel Vlog :: l'arrivo (The Arrival)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

After 14 hours of flying I arrived into Venice International Airport. I took a water taxi in the sweltering heat to my apartment in the center of the island. I had a shoot planned that evening with a talented actress/model that lives in Padova. Instead of exploring Venice I decided to go to sleep for a few hours, but when I woke up it was raining "cats and pigs." That's what Chiara called the rain through a text she sent me. Our shoot was off but she decided to meet my anyway. We met at Cafe 52 on the Grand Canal and talked about photography and the idea of shooting long exposures in the night at a later date.

_MG_9604.jpg

On the way back to my apartment I decided to take a water taxi rather than walk. The colors against the purple sky and teal colored water struck me as odd as I imagined the water to be a filthy brown color for some reason. It was about 9:30pm and the sun had gone down and the city light were coming on. I felt compelled to shoot something regardless of the rain. Rain drops quickly covered my camera, but it didn't matter

IMG_2856.JPG
because I saw something unique and couldn't stop.

All the footage is shot in camera using no effects in post. I had a simple old Canon 5D mkii with a 16-35mm lens. While sailing through the canals I went outside and begin recording, this is what I saw. I remembered watching an old Scorsese Italian mafia movie years ago; I remembered the music being sort of strange and decided it was fitting for this little piece.
IMG_2784.JPG
My Canon on a tripod in the streets of Venice.

My first video for my Steemit travel vlog. Enjoy!

Mikey

IMG_2764.PNG
Google Maps of my apartment that I rented from Airbnb.

IMG_2776.JPG
Boat shot after dark. Be sure to see the video above.

_MG_9847.jpg
Shot of Chiara my last night in Venice. We played around with some long exposure portraits.

Sort:  

Wow !! I love this . Have fun

What did you love about it?

The way you did the photography

There was a video. It was about the video. LOL.

'long exposure portraits'
Oh! I will experiment that too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62164.65
ETH 2439.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67