Photography Art Series - Afro Caribbean Culture

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

stock-photo-21777003.jpg

I went traveled the Caribbean coast of Colombian on several occasions over the last decade. The culture is rich in diversity, history goes back almost 500 years, music has the original beat, food will blow your socks off and you'll forever be changed if you allow yourself to be immersed.

Armed with a minimal light set up and a camera this is what happened. I'll make mini notes of what happened or give some technical notes for the photographers out there.

Regardless whether you read a lick, just enjoy the vibrant culture captured in these images.

Above:
The streets in almost every Caribbean town are loaded with farmers selling a variety of fruits and vegetables. You don't need to go to a grocery store, just walk down the street and grab what you're cooking for lunch. Two guys early one morning getting ready to sell some green plantains.

Green plantains are a staple in Carib food, when fried with garlic they almost taste like potatoes. Green plantains are of my favorite snacks often called are tostones or patacones.

stock-photo-21780573.jpg

The houses in Cartagena are 200 to 450 years old. It's completely normal to see an old house with a wealthy person living there and next door the complete opposite. I love this contrast.

stock-photo-21755617.jpg
Drinking outside your doorstep or on the street isn't a big deal; it's part of the culture. Two guys drinking the local aguardiente and talking complete shit. They offered me some shots right after I took this.
stock-photo-21996957.jpg

A notice a beautiful girl in the neighborhood of Getsamani; she happily posed for a few shots right at sunset. I love natural light conditions.
stock-photo-21755815.jpg

I woke up early and decided to take images while my friends slept in from a night of partying. The AC must have been in full force because when I walked outside my camera lens immediately fogged up. With all that heavy glass warming up I decided to just rock the fog.
stock-photo-21755639.jpg
Yep, a big beautiful butt.

stock-photo-16658151.jpg
Farrah made her way to the bedrooms of kids all around the world. This guy is all grown up now, but still has Farrah on his wall.
stock-photo-21755641.jpg
Watching the boob tube is always better in your alleyway.
stock-photo-21776985.jpg
Need a little cocaine? It's everywhere and not a big deal. I declined...not my drug of choice.
stock-photo-21862249.jpg
Hammock right in the middle of the living room...not a problem!
stock-photo-22254759.jpg
In the middle of no where I stop in this fishing village to grab some shots of fisherman. I had my 28" soft box loaded with a speed light for this shot.

stock-photo-22254779.jpg
Dinner patiently waiting on the dock.
stock-photo-23279517.jpg
I hired this guy to take me around the bay of Tasajara.
stock-photo-24875739.jpg
These people lived in this small village and literally had nothing. But they could not have been happier.
stock-photo-24876215.jpg
sometimes have to shoot someone I find interesting. Her eyes spoke to me.
stock-photo-24875723.jpg
A lot of stories of hard luck behind that face.
stock-photo-21755545.jpg
Working from his living room window a guy was sells cell phone minutes, soft drinks and newspapers.
stock-photo-22254747.jpg

A dog is tied up on the dock for no real reason.
stock-photo-21776993.jpg

A dog peeps into a door

Sort:  

great informatin
amazing post
really amazing clicks , wow

Great pictures and nice impressions. A completely different lifestyle. Fascinating.

It really is fascinating. I highly recommend Cartagena, but don't go for the beaches. Further south towards Santa Marta is good for beaches.

Turned on again my will to travel

Travel broadens the mind.

Great captures @lighenup. The elder women. Always interesting on how random American culture shows up around the world in little villages. I'm really looking forward to visiting Cartagena in early November.

be sure to visit the neighborhood of Getsamani near the old city walls.

Noted. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69