Hollywood Hang in the Mojave Desert - Photo Journalist Story

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

_MG_2814.jpg

I went with a couple of TV/Movie creatives for a brainstorming session in the desert. One of the characters in this weekend creative sesh has a TV show concept; I came along for a little support and fun. In between the sessions I ran around with my old 5D snapping shots of anything I saw; also managed to get some fun shots of the friends that came along.

If you know of any good photography contests on Steemit or great photographer please comment. I love to share my knowledge and inspire others!

I joined Seth, Dani and Erika in Joshua Tree. Here's some visual story...

_MG_2914.jpg

Sunsets are magic in the desert. This night was particularly funky due to the dust in the air; there was a power wind last night and the skies showed the dramatic detail. I love the intense and harsh conditions in the desert; you have to be pretty burly and dig you hands into it.

_MG_2792.jpg

Walking around the town right at sunrise and taking a shadow selfie in the middle of Hwy 60, Joshua Tree. Welcome to Joshua Tree.

_MG_2850.jpg

We all went for a hike in the park day 2 - Erika

20180210_174420_1518327859469_1518410436100.jpeg

Seth from Maine, Dani from Ireland, Erika from Mexico and me from Camera Land

_MG_2848.jpg

There's the Toyota adventure machine in the distance...lots of trips and shoots in that beast. Doing some offloading deep in the Mojave desert.

_MG_2825.jpg

Cruising around a neighborhood in Joshua Tree you can see some interesting things. I guess this guy likes to wait on a bench for his mail.

_MG_2745.jpg

Funky mirror randomly placed just outside the park. A few years ago someone told me to drive down Neptune Road in 29 Palms.

_MG_2723.jpg

Walking around in the desert I ran across a General Land Office Survey marker.

_MG_2732.jpg

16mm wide ass shot right at sunrise. 6:32am walking around on private property. I figured people in the desert wouldn't get too upset because it was so early.

_MG_2883.jpg

After a long hike and drive deep into Joshua Tree (somewhere near what's called Hidden Valley...not the ranch)

IMG_8106.JPG

The iPhone 6 isn't that clear on this big screen. Cool shot.

Help make this steemit page a success and up vote if you want to see more
Michael
LA Based Photographer and Videographer

_MG_2829.jpg

Just laying in the road ... creepy desert.

Sort:  

I love your shots with the super wide lens. I'm getting back into photography myself, and a super wide is going to be my next acquisition. Inspiring post! (And yeah, creepy no handed doll is a little weird)

Looks like you had fun! Awesome pics!!! I'm an OCD curator and I want to nominate this post to our daily compilation. This could get you more attention to your blog and maybe some extra votes. Reply if you accept.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


Want to support OCD? Vote for @ocd-witness Steemit Witnesses

I accept @elteamgordo and huge thanks!

Great Post Mikey!

In the desert, you can remember your name...

America!

Beautiful photos

Thanks Blanca!!!

Love these as I really like the west. My favorite is Red Rock Canyon . Joshua tree is on my to do list next time I can visit the area. @ladyartist

Red Rock! Have any pics?

Awesome shots! I love the survey monument. I always get a kick out of it when I see them around. Maybe it's because I'm involved in engineering and get to use them every now and then -- but I get a tickle out of it when I see them in the wild. Thanks for sharing!

I almost tripped over that survey marker. I don't think I have ever seen one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94