Black and Whites for the Cryptos

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

tumblr_merxwsZUyB1r9anyho1_540.jpg

For me black and white photography is the purest form of photography art. I believe color brings reality into the image, where as black and white is an interpretation of reality. When you shoot with black and white in mind the photographer has to focus on texture, light, tonal contrast, form and shape. Okay, the truth is I don't know if I am really thinking about texture, tonal contrast, form and shape as much as I am light and subject matter. Light is almost everything for me, but the subject is important too. I shoot people; the subject is relying on my direction and energy to grab that moment captured in time.

tumblr_mevg2pB7y01r9anyho2_1280.jpg
This shoot was taken at a friends house in Dunedin, Florida with a model named Brandy. I had never met Brandy before these images were taken. She brought some clothes and there wasn't a real plan. She was sort of quiet but had a lot of confidence in her demeanor. She also said she didn't mind being nude, so I just went with the vibe with no particular direction. So this is what unfolded.

When I first met her I didn't find her particularly attractive. But once we started shooting it was obvious the camera liked her. She has such striking features I immediately knew this would be a black and white shoot. I gave her clear direction and she followed my vision without much discussion.

tumblr_merypl2xjo1r9anyho2_540.jpg
I often start with a powerful pose. If the model can pull it off I like to stay in that vein until I feel it's time to switch things up. She sort of rocked the powerful poses, so we really never got out of that realm.

tumblr_merypl2xjo1r9anyho1_540.jpg

There's also a video if you like these photos and want to see more from the shoot and also BTS footage.

tumblr_mevg2pB7y01r9anyho1_1280.jpg
I saw a hard line of light created from the sun that was settling. I put her face into it. It's a strong image and the expression has a certain mystery to it. Sometimes I change the inflection in my voice when directing to get certain emotions.

tumblr_merychOEJ91r9anyho1_540.jpg
There was part of a palm tree on the ground and I handed it to Brandy. This is the pose she struck up. The no-seeums were in full swing at this point and we had to shoot quick.

dsc_8444_9091428857_o.jpg
Bringing nature into the shot is where I went with this image. Brandy is long and slinky, she flows with it.

dsc_8475_9093649776_o.jpg
Blow out the exposure! It works with that black hair.

dsc_9099_9093649102_o.jpg

Okay Steemians and Crypto Heads, I hope you enjoyed the video and images. I bid you farewell for now.

Sort:  

Thanks my man! Know of any great photographers on Steemit?

Also thanks for the massive up vote. I appreciate it...I don't get that too often.

My father, a photo enthusiast in the past, always says if a photo doesn't look good in B&W, it won't work in colour either. Monochrome lets you see what's important about the shot. I must add some of the poses you choose are quite unique, those pictures certainly look like there's a person and not an ad agency behind them.

It's definitely a different way of thinking in black and white. Color isn't there to evoke a certain feeling; there aren't complimentary colors for example to make an image "pop." Black and White is bare bones. I pose what I see most of the time if I am not shooting for an agency or client. It's my world, not someone guessing what will sell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83