My little winged friends.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Snapseed.jpg

This is my second visit of the year from my little Mantis pals. The first was fleeting, but this one the reminder I almost certainly needed.

Every year I am a magnet for the praying mantis. They like my hair, my shoulders, and whatever arm they pick at that moment. And they fascinate me. Most of you would never guess at my Native American ancestry, being as I waltz around with blonde hair, but I have quite a bit on both sides of my family.

So even if it's untrue for others, I like to view my visits from my little winged friends as a reminder.
Each different, but filled with meaning.

This little fella or lady (I couldn't see all the segments clearly) decided my messy braided hair was the perfect spot to hitch a ride inside the house with me. Unfortunately, my boxer thinks little creatures are toys, so in hopes of keeping the Mantis safe, I placed it back outside.

Then I watched it for the next 20 minutes. I took pics and video, and watched as it moved it's head as if it were posing for the camera, though I know it was just carefully surveying the situation.

I was reminded again of the stillness, patience and grace that the little one exuded. A reminder for myself, to slow down, enjoy the small things, and possibly rethink a few of my brand new and major life changing decisions. The rest of the day I felt a calmness that I hadn't in a long time.

I let life start moving far too quickly, and the master of patience dropped in to remind me to slow down.
And it was probably hoping there were tasty spiders in the house. 💚💚💚

Until we meet again little friend.

Sort:  

Praying Mantises are one of the only insects that I can tolerate. They are really cool! Also doesn't hurt that they eat spiders because I hate those!

I feel exactly the same! Haha and I just realized this one is actually pregnant, so she probably wanted to lay babies in my hair, which I'm not that cool with, but since she went gracefully back outside, we can still be friends 😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55