We also have organic mosquito traps! (Same bat time, same bat channel!)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The video is a little blurry because they were so high up. The three at the end are just birds. :)

Sort:  

awesome to live with bats,
I rescued one of those little guys recently.
He was on the street.
you know they can't take off, from the ground?
If they end up on the ground they are usually doomed.
Lucky my dogs couldn't work out what it was and hadn't hurt it before I could do anything.

Picked him up carefully and took him home
I took him up to my balcony
and with all things crossed, tossed him up and out into the void...

he tumbled once and recovered, then,
just missing the roof of the house over the street,
he was gone flying off into the darkness.

(I was so afraid he might actually be hurt and not be able to fly, and he would have tumbled onto that roof, which is lower than my balcony.
Steep hills were I live.
and then I wouldn't have been able to rescue him again.)

And I swear that (almost anyway) every night since a bat has circled me a couple of times flying right in to my space (feel the love) and then fluttered away happily.

I am not sh!tting you.

big bat hugs

Nice! I recently saw a video here of an octopus being released, which came back and touched the guy's foot with one or two legs as a "thanks!" and then went into the ocean.

The last place we were at, I remember two instances which probably were the same bat: my wife told me about the cats being interested in the doorway, she looked over and there was a bat sitting there! It walked, somewhat crookedly, away and she was able to capture it and put it outside.

Separately, the neighbor and his kid were outside playing catch, and he found a hurt bat in the bushes. Years later I realized the two were likely the same, as the one in the house wasn't flying and did seem injured (but I hadn't seen it, and thus didn't put them together; I think she told me about it later?).

oh man, I hate to break it to you, but a bat that isn't flying isn't gunna last a day.

they live on the wing.

but there are many types too.

I know we had/(they still have I hope) flying foxes in Queensland and they are pretty different, and enormous as you can guess by the name.
In fact they fly (or flew, when I was last there) in their thousands right over my house (my Australian house) every evening to go forage on fruit plantations.
They are a scrabbling, argumentative pack down in the (poor) trees were they roosted over-day.

but most of types of bat can't take off from the ground.
I don't think any can.
And on they ground they have too many predators.

:(

Most types could probably climb a tree to get a couple of metres of drop to take off in.

but they usually (famously) hang somewhere over the day and just drop to take off when they rock on out.

hope I didn't break anybody's heart

You're right, it probably didn't last very long. Very neat about the flying foxes!

Awesome! That's must be hard to record the flying birds. Thank you @libertyteeth for sharing.

Yeah I tried to zoom in a couple times but the bat was flying so fast I couldn't keep track of it -- and, it was all blurry anyway. You're welcome! :)

Good Weed in there! :)

It is the moment of the food of the bats. cool

The birds are performing the show!
Thank for your effort to capture this fast flying bird @libertyteeth!

fantastic of bat fly

Thanks @libertyteeth for the video of bird!

haha...can't see what it looks like but thanks you for the video :D

wow a beautifull evening with bats on sky

The birds are playing happily. Thank for the video @libertyteeth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62195.97
ETH 2415.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64