A tree fell, covering a house, nearly opening it up! Looks perhaps vacant, as well...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

My wife @countrylover and I were returning home this afternoon and saw a huge root system, which was connected to a fallen tree, which was covering the front of a house!

Perhaps the owners are absent? Not something I'd want to have to clean up!

It rained last night, but not a lot; this was likely from the larger storm a week or so ago.

20171114_151751.jpg

20171114_151724.jpg

20171114_151625.jpg

20171114_151652.jpg

20171114_151647.jpg




Sort:  

You have to feel for the home owners.

Was that tree dying? I wonder if the roots were started to wear and so a good rain and some wind and it was primed to fall over! Glad to see that the house for the most part was not damaged!

Yeah, the house looks amazingly intact, from what we could see. Looks like it was growing in rocky soil, so the roots didn't have as much to grab onto.

that would suck! did they tend to it yet?😂

Not sure; it's out of our way, won't be back that way for a few weeks. Looks like it was growing on rather rocky soil, which explains its weak roots. I wonder if that's easy to test for; I'd want to eliminate all threats! :)

both of you are lucky, hope everything will be fine and fixup quickly.

And even more lucky, that it wasn't our house! :)

That's a huge tree

Omg! its very bad to see tree fell. Hope no one was hurt.

I know that squirrels are carrying a lot of nuts this time of year and if they get out on a branch... there's a mechanical advantage there... just sayin rain was light...

LOL -- squirrel! :)

lightning or wind?

I'd say wind.

Can't tell for sure from the pictures, but it almost looks like the house is not really damaged? That would be incredibly lucky!

Yeah, I got out and walked around and it looks like only superficial damage, if that. Probably some shingles are missing, and might have scratched the paint, perhaps damaged a light fixture, but I agree -- they seem very fortunate!

To me, someone cut the 🌲 tree down. And why I'm surprised now is , why didn't they remove it after cutting it down ?

Nope, look closer -- the roots were pulled out of the ground.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49