Adventures in Florida #13: Gopher Tortoises at Boyd Hill Nature Preserve

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Join me for another jaunt through the woods!


It's time to hit the trail...



It's been at least two years since I've hiked the trails at Boyd Hill Nature Preserve so I decided to stop in and hit the trail for a couple hours while I was in St. Petersburg. This park has always been known to have a large population of gopher tortoises so I was hoping to possibly catch a glimpse of one.

I decided to hit the swamp woodland loop trail first to see if there were some wading birds out and about. Looks like they have renovated the boardwalk since I was last here!

As I made my way along the boardwalk I didn't really see many signs of life except a few ibis flying overhead. I got close to the end of this wooden path and just happened to look over the railing.

This little alligator is probably around a year old, looks like he's sunning himself to warm up a bit. I continued on down the trail towards the sand scrub section of the park in search of a gopher tortoise. The trails are very well marked here unlike many parks and preserves that I've visited. It would be pretty hard to get lost here.

Along the way I stumbled upon this insect in the midst of a metamorphosis!

I'm not 100% on this but I believe it is turning into one of the big colorful grasshoppers we have down here in Florida which I think are called Southern Lubbers. There were plenty of those things hopping around on the sides of the trail here.

Eventually reaching the sandy flatwoods I was on the hunt for burrows. Gopher tortoises are protected here and it is unlawful to touch gopher tortoises in any way, feed them or even stand on their burrow. Not only are they a protected species but abandoned burrows provide homes for many other endangered species found in Florida. Here you can see one of their burrows in the sandy topsoil.


Looks like nobody's home. While you're not supposed to be on the burrow at all, there is always some idiot that thinks he can just stick his arm in there and pull the tortoise out for whatever reason. Lots of people are bitten by snakes as a result of doing this. The burrows are known to be home to rattlesnakes and other less lethal species.

This sign here has probably been here for quite a while.



Indigo Snakes are one of many endangered species that call the burrows home. However, due to habitat depletion they are rarely found in central & southern Florida. They're most likely to be spotted in the Florida Panhandle and north. I have never been lucky enough to see an Indigo in the wild but I did have a chance a while back to work with some folks who are breeding them and successfully reintroducing them into the wild.

A little bit further down the trail I spotted a tortoise that was headed towards his burrow after seeing me. Unfortunately by the time I reached it I didn't get to see the end of him I wanted to!

It was kind of strange that it didn't go all the way in like most usually do. Oh well, I got a picture of one at least! I started heading towards one of the loop trails that I haven't been on before. There was plenty to see along the way, like this small sample of the many wild flowers all over the place.

Contrary to common belief, we do have cacti here in Florida. Here's a small patch of it along with some bitter gourds that were just off the trail. The gourds are a wild edible but should only be consumed when green and cooked.


Just up the trail is something you would NEVER expect to see while hiking through a nature preserve....some AMAZING recycled art!


That's one mean looking armadillo! I honestly forgot these sculptures were here but was pleasantly surprised to see them again. They're made from recycled material like old car bumpers and other miscellaneous things that would normally just go to waste in a junkyard somewhere.


It was the middle of the day by this time, around 98 degrees and humid as hell...welcome to Florida! After a couple hours of walking around and probably a few pounds of water weight lost from sweating, I decided to head back towards the trail head and call it a day.

As I got within a half mile of the entrance I glanced down one of the side trails. I saw something small sitting on the trail but couldn't tell what it was. It was definitely moving though, very slowly. I picked up the pace and was very happy to see this little guy before I left.

It's a baby gopher tortoise! He was understandably on guard as I quickly approached him, but after I sat down and gave him some room he felt comfortable enough to come out of his shell and continue on his way.

I followed close by to make sure he made his way back to the scrub cover to provide him some safety from predators. Thanks for joining me on this adventure, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did!
until next time...
all photos captured with Canon 80D/18-135mm

Please upvote & resteem if you enjoyed this post!

In case you missed the last post in this series you can see it here:
Adventures in Florida #12: Rescued Raptors at Largo Bird of Prey Center

follow me @liberty-minded

Minnows UNITE!

Sort:  

oh wow awesome post ! Love the tortoise!! Thanks for sharing !🐢🐢🐢

great place! Awesome photos!

Always an interesting adventure loaded with pics

Amazing pics! I live in St Pete. Boyd Hill is really a huge park in the middle of St Petersburg Florida - a major residential area. I also like Sawgrass Lakes Park on the north side of town. Lakes and waterways. I have spent hours there just being in nature within ear shot from I-275.

Hello fellow Floridian! It really is an awesome park hidden in suburbia that makes you feel like you're away from it all...thanks @bluethread!

Looks like the most awesome day ever. Extra points for tortoises

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Liberty-Minded from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Very cool place! I'll have to check it out one day (hopefully).

Really appreciate you stopping by @papa-pepper!

You've got a nice fauna there in Florida.

Nice post. Of the images, the dragonfly and the last turtle image are the most impressive. That art looks amazing too, though! It does, indeed, seem like a strange place to find it. What's on that Lake Maggoire Island?

Thanks @fotosdenada. There's not much on the island really, it's pretty small. Mostly just some marshy areas with a boardwalk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33