You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Encounter in the woods

in #photography8 years ago

I love miniature photography! Nicely done. I know you have used a tighter lens with a wide aperture to make the background as blurred as possible, but the issue is that the dino is not in focus throughout either - which kind of disrupts the illusion. I don't mind a bit of a fake background, as long as the subject is in deep focus like something as massive as a T-rex would completely be.

Sort:  

Thanks for your feedback @liberosist! It was actually my intension that only the head of the T-rex is in focus, so that the body merges with the blurred background. I wanted to have the T-rex kind of "moving" out of the background towards the observer. Still, thanks for sharing your impression!

Ah, I see. For me, it has the opposite effect - the T-rex is merging with the background.

Just some thoughts - you kept the T-rex in focus, clearly separated from the background. But used light, or maybe a wider lens, to have that effect. Just some thoughts. I know it would require a much larger lightbox to pull it off!

Right, I wanted to have the backmost part of the T-rex merge with the background but the head to stick out. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts, I will definitely keep experimenting with this kind of photography.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53776.88
ETH 2232.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30