My Girlfriend Is A Photographer...

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

...and so we take these day trips to little towns across the south eastern part of the US. I end up writing an essay or poem about them most of the time, but regardless she takes a mess of photos. She prefers film of course. Anyways, I was standing around (we were in an old flour mill that had been shut down since the 1950's) and decided to try my hand at it. She's given me a good number of pointers over the year we've been together. I wanted to share them, since...I liked them, which surprised me.

Here they are. IMG_0730.JPG
In this one I particularly enjoy all the angular wood beams. I only found the cross, featured center left, after I took it. She explained to me that most of the time there is a feeling in her that she needs to capture something, though she doesn't know why and that not until later does it become apparent of why the feeling was there to begin with. I thought this was a poignant statement.

IMG_0731.JPG
This one reminded me of nature, the greenness of it. Odd I know, with all the metal all around me. There was something instinctive about the disheveled state of the machinery, as in what happens when man leaves? Things fall apart and other things grow.

I hope you enjoy them, and I'd greatly appreciate feedback from all those professionals out there.

Sort:  

I really like the first photograph. For your first attempts, they are pretty good, to be honest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70