A visit to Buenos Aires

in #photography7 years ago

20170707_111223.jpg

In Buenos Aires in the winter, it rains very often and it's more often very cloudy.
Fresh moist air from the sea, and below a mosaic of asphalt and cobble stone streets and sidewalks of various kinds, give the city its own distinct charm.

20170707_112812.jpg

Then there are sights and sounds in the city. I wish I could give you the way these foods smell or taste but you'll have to come to find out.

From a western city rectangular pizzas is common but still a symphony of flavor
20170707_112126.jpg

There are jams that are so thick that they keep their own shape. Below is sweet potato jam.

20170707_113635.jpg

The other common thick jam is quince jam. 20170707_113753.jpg

Another sweet potato and chocolate jam is rather new for me.
20170707_113828.jpg

Food photos that are not safe for diabetics but fine for us.

Until we meet, bye for now.

Sort:  

Hey there! I was born in Buenos Aires. Your post stirred up a lot of memories I didn't know I was holding onto. The platter of empanadas reminded me of when we'd have large family get togethers (of course, EVERYONE is family at an Argentinian get together.)
Are you from Argentina or were you just visiting? I need someone to mail me Alfajores. Haha

I am not from Argentina but I'd send you alfajores for steem backed dollars. I can cross the road and ask how much it costs to send.

Really??? Are you seriously offering? There's a candy bar that I don't know if you're familiar with, but it's called "Mantecol" I'd give you steam backed dollars to send me that! I haven't had it since I was a kid and moved away. Oh my god. I'm trying to contain my excitement but it's just leaking out of everywhere.

You can still buy them here. What about shipping? Lets see, maybe you should buy a box of them. I'll send you my GPG key when I get back from my travels to my city of residence in Chubut province. I guess you don't want to broadcast your address to the blockchain in the clear.

Tiene Buenos Aires un rincón
En un jardín prohibido
Un tal piazzola, amigo de un gorrión
Que le presta el nido
Para ver de plata amanecer
De oro atardecer, de madrugada
Una mirada de mujer
Tiene Buenos Aires qué sé yo
Y un poema escrito
Un verso que recuerdo de un adiós
Y que le dedico
A ese personaje que cantó ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66670.04
ETH 3497.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71