Flower Series 1: The Walk

in #photography6 years ago

I like taking a stroll sometimes, it helps me relax and think, process the daily happenings. This day was a day of many hardships and I decided to take a walk around the streets near my University campus. I had just been through a brutal exam that I studied like a zombie for and it was just what I needed. The flowers and trees I saw along the way refreshed my mind, calmed my soul and I intend to share this serenity with you. I did not have my camera and gear with me at the time so all the photos were taken with a Galaxy S6.

20151027_120815.jpg
Im not too sure what this one is called but it was very eye catching. If there are any botanists reading, feel free to let me know.

20160408_170353.jpg
Where I am from, these are called Bougainvillea, the flowers themselves overtake the leaves in a brilliant show of colour and intensity. As you will see, they are quite popular.

20160828_174055.jpg
This one seemed so alien to me. It was complex like a composite of flowers forming one whole larger one. The white was just beautifully paired with those inner yellow stamen. It looked so pristine, so clean, so magnificent.

20170501_165926.jpg
Here's another bougainvillea, this time with a crimson iteration. Red is my favourite colour and I think I couldn't have asked for more because the white wall was just a perfect background to showcase the red petals.

20160520_175453.jpg
This one, I had truly never seen before. I loved the shape of the petals. The design screamed TROPICAL!

20170627_164545.jpg
Ahhh, here we have the Hibiscus! This is another one of those commonly found in many Trinidadian gardens. Loved the water droplets on this one.

20160408_170505.jpg
As soon as I saw these, in my mind, I said "elegant". They seemed so feminine and flowingly graceful, slender.

20170512_132246.jpg
I'm not too sure what this one was either but the white caught my eye. I liked what the water droplets looked like. The flower seemed to be looking out onto the road to greet passers by.

20141003_091049_HDR.jpg

Sadly my leisurely walk had to come to a bitter-sweet end. Rain had started falling profusely and I decided to make a beeline for home. I didn't feel dissatisfied though. I got to see and appreciate many wonderful things of the world, some of which I had not even seen before. That was enough for me. I hope the calmness and serenity that this stroll had brought me also comes to you. Thanks for reading, cheers!

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lemniscate/

123.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @lemniscate! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

@minnowpond has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Greetings minnow!

hahaha awesome

hieee welcome,
i am also new in here i am voting you,& commenting on ur post & going to follow you.its a request to you please do the same on my post.By helping eachother we will grow rapidly.

What games do you play Syed?

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hey @lemniscate, welcome to Steemit!

@lemniscate - Don't worry about your exams. National Geographic has you in its radar!

woah! thank you @sarahspeaks144! That means alot!

@lemniscate - "Just the facts, ma'am." (famous line from 1950's TV series, "Dragnet")

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05