Year Abroad #Post 1

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

IMG_7084.jpg
Hello fellow Steemians!

So I have been advised to document my time spend in France because apparently when I’ll be all old, wrinkly and stuck on the ground floor of my small house unable to do anything fun other than my weekly Bingo sessions, I’ll want to be able to look back on the highlights of my youth.

So here I am: a 21 year old broke and desperate student taking pictures of just about anything whilst I aimlessly roaming the streets of Paris.

I have officially been in France for more or less three months. I woke up this morning thinking, ‘Why don’t you post your pictures on steemit instead of using up all of your phone storage?’


source
#themostannoyingpopupever

So, why am I in France? Well fellow Steemians, I am a French modern language undergraduate student and as part of my course, I am required to spend a year abroad in a French speaking country. I decided to partake in the British Council’s English Language Assistantship which basically means that I’ve been teaching elementary school kids the ‘almighty’ English language.

I had a choice to either:
spend your year abroad studying at a french university and yet again stress myself out with french taught modules
or take a break from studying and earn some money teaching cute little kids

Of course, chasing B was a no-brainer for me.

2.JPG

Living in France has been…interesting.

At heart, I’m a city girl therefore, moving from London to Paris wasn’t such a major change. However, I must admit that keeping up with the french language was a bit tough at the start. I would smile, nod and laugh without understanding much. Rise, reset and repeat. But before I knew it, I had fully mastered being french, or at least seemingly passing off as being french.

So far, I have come up with a couple of positive and negative things I’ve come across whilst living in France:

Positives in no particular oder:

-Croissants and all things made of pastry:)
-Crêpes and Galettes
-Cheese
-Coffee
-Architecture
-Landscapes
-Parks
-Culture
-Museums
-Shops upon shops upon shops
-Food in general is bae

Negatives in a particular order:

-French administration
-Buses (particularly those further out central Pairs like in Zone 5 etc)
-Paris Metro stations (Sorry, London underground is just better)
-Cigarette smoke literally everywhere you go
-Parisians resting mean face


And that’s all for now dear Steemians! Hope you enjoyed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62886.34
ETH 2448.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64