Inside Mahagandayon Monastery

in #photography6 years ago (edited)


Cover.jpg
UBEIN BRIDGE. Novice monks crossing the world’s longest teak bridge.

Photography is all about telling stories. We can find interesting stories everywhere. It’s up to the photographer to creatively frame the scene and present only what is essential for the viewers to see without losing the truth and essence of the story. I’ve been to many places but Myanmar would still be my top recommendation for photographers who’d want to hone their skills in visual storytelling.

From the moment I arrived in Yangon to my last day in Mandalay, I have witnessed a lot of stories waiting to be told. Every scene is like watching a National Geographic documentary in real life. It took me years to finally be satisfied with the post-processing of the photographs. I felt like I can never give justice to how beautiful Myanmar is. That I still can make some improvements. It took quite a number of revisions before I finally decided on how I would want to tell this story. What changed? More than the skills I’ve learned through the years, it’s accepting the fact that an artwork can never reach perfection. An artist would always see flaws in his work. There has to be a point of completion and remind yourself about your objectives.


MAHAGANDAYON MONASTERY



DSC_3546.jpg
MAGICAL SUNSET. Locals and monks crossing the Ubein bridge as the sun sets.

Buddhism in Myanmar


Culture has always been part of my deciding factor on which country to visit. I always get inspired whenever I immerse myself into another country’s culture. It broadens one’s horizon and promotes cultural understanding. Myanmar is a nation whose culture and tradition are upheld very strongly up to this day. It’s an everyday scenario in Myanmar to walk past monks. 90% of the country’s population practice buddhism - one of the world’s oldest and most revered religion. Boys as young as seven years old start training as novice monks. They're expected to enter the monastery for a period of a few weeks or several months. They have a choice to stay or return to his life outside the monastery. It’s an honor to have a monk in a Burmese family. For families below the poverty line, it serves as an opportunity for them to be educated for free and gain access to an honorable position in society.


Combo-1.jpg
ALMS ROUND. Monks go around nearby villages every morning to collect food.


It’s completely normal for Burmese people to go in and out of the monastery several times in their lives. What makes the monastic system work is equality. There is no social class among monks. They wear identical robes, shaved heads and eats together as a community. This series focuses on the life of the monks inside Mahagandayon Monastery - the largest buddhist monastery in Myanmar.

Combo-2.jpg
NOVICE MONKS. Monks bring pots with them to contain the food they collected from each house.

Inside the Monastery

Founded in 1914, Mahagandayon Monastery is located in Amarapura on the outskirts of Mandalay. The complex is home to over a thousand men from different parts of Myanmar and the world who go there for monastic study and to be ordained as monks.


DSC_3055.jpg
MAHAGANDAYON MONASTERY. The monks live in these houses near the entrance of the monastery.



DSC_3292.jpg
HOME. One of the houses inside the monastery where the monks live during their stay.

Daily Ritual

Here’s a glimpse into the daily practices inside Mahagandayon Monastery:

04:30 AM - Pre-dawn beating of a drum called ohn-maun to wake monks and novices. Shortly after, monks leave the compound to go around nearby villages for their alms round.

05:00 AM - Breakfast is served by the local residents. Monks eat in silence and clean up their meals before proceeding to classes and study the teachings of Buddha.

10:30 AM - Monks line up for their last meal of the day. Monks are expected to eat nothing from noon until dawn the next day. Classes resume after washing the dishes until it’s time for them to sleep.


DSC_3056.jpg
TRADITIONAL COOKING. Monks preparing the last meal of the day.


DSC_3063.jpg
DONATIONS. Many families sponsor meals to feed over a thousand monks each day.


DSC_3108.jpg
LAST MEAL OF THE DAY. Monks, nuns and novices line up every noon for their last meal of the day.


DSC_3092.jpg
BAREFOOT. The Monastic life promotes equality.


DSC_3146.jpg
MONASTIC DISCIPLINE. Life inside the monastery revolves around strict daily rituals.

Seeing the monks line up in an orderly row on the road leading to the eating hall was an interesting experience for me. They all bowed down their heads and have rice bowls and cups in hand. You would really see the discipline instilled in each of these monks. I learned a lot just by observing their activities. Everyone was silent, patient for their turn, and seems to be contemplating on everything they hear and see.


Combo-3.jpg
227 RULES. The code of monastic discipline consists of 227 rules to be strictly followed by a novice to be an ordained monk.


DSC_3278.jpg
7-10 YEARS. The Theravada Buddhist education lasts 7 to 10 years to complete.


DSC_3228.jpg
VINAYA. Novice monks study about Buddha’s teachings throughout the day.

3 Types of Monks in the Monastery

I believe we all have a similar image in mind on how a monk looks like - red robes and shaved heads. With this in mind before getting in, I got curious when I saw young monks wearing white robes. I was thinking then that they were part of a different group. I found out that there are actually three types of monks living inside Mahagandayon.

First are the white-robed pre-novices who basically served as helpers in the monastery. They’re not matured enough to be actual novices but rules still apply to them. Rules are more lax for these young monks so you’ll still see them play around and eat in the evening.


DSC_3252.jpg
WHITE-ROBED MONKS. Rules are somewhat more lax for pre-novices who still has the liberty to play around the compound.

Next are temporary novices who are just starting out with their practice of Vinaya - the 227 rules which serves as the code of discipline to be an ordained monk.


DSC_3165.jpg
TEMPORARY NOVICES. A novice monk contemplating after his midday meal.

The third type are monks from other monasteries who transferred to Mahagandayon to advance their studies. They have to pass an examination conducted by the government to prove that they have mastered some level of Buddha’s teachings.


DSC_3143.jpg
LEADER. An older monk leading a group of novices lining up for their meal.

Ubein Bridge

Just a few steps away from Mahagandayon Monastery is the Ubein Bridge. The 1.2 km long bridge is said to be the world’s longest teak bridge. The Taung Tha Man lake serves as a backdrop for the bridge that offers a stunning view during sunrise and sunset that tourists shouldn’t miss. The bridge might look familiar since it can be seen in a lot of magazines and news articles. I decided to cross the bridge and I can’t help but point my cameras everywhere. Every angle offers a different story. The bridge has so much character which helped me in composing my images. Hundreds of locals and monks cross the bridge everyday.


DSC_3598.jpg
CROSSING THE BRIDGE. A lot of monks I’ve met are fluent in English and would love to engage in a conversation with tourists.


DSC_3491.jpg
LOCALS. Locals bringing with them their bicycles and other food supplies.


DSC_3398.jpg
TOURIST MONKS. Monks who are not from Mahagandayon enjoy the scenery as they tour around the lake.


DSC_3501.jpg
PATIENCE. A fisherman patiently wait to catch a fish with his rod.


DSC_3421.jpg
NUNS. You’ll meet people from all walks of life when crossing the bridge.


DSC_3474.jpg
FAREWELL. A father and his dog watch as his family leaves to visit Amarapura.


DSC_3567.jpg
Taung Tha Man Lake. Fishermen offer their services to tourists who’d want to tour around the lake.

There are a lot of things we can learn from these monks that we can apply in our lives. I admire them for being able to live their life according to the teachings of Buddha and strictly follow the daily rituals. I’d be lying if I say that I’m not considering experiencing being a monk. I feel that I needed the silence and discipline to move forward. I’m not sure if I’ll survive the lifestyle but I’m curious on know how it can change me as a person. It can definitely change how you see the world. I hope this story inspires everyone. I came to Myanmar wanting to take good photographs but I went home taking with me stories and learnings I can share with everyone else.



Thank you for viewing! Let me know what you think of this series.

Warmest regards,
@legendarryll

Sort:  

Very nice @legendarryll! Nindot gyud kaayo. It feels like reading a National Geographic article. I will follow you for more informative posts like this. Salamat.

Hi @raquelita! Thank you so much. The place itself looks like a Nat Geo documentary in real life. It's always easier to photograph when the setting is as interesting as Myanmar. Salamat!

I have been to Myanmar (Yangon & Bagan) and I def agree with you @legandarryll, the place is really interesting but I have never captured its beauty like you did. You have a talent for story telling and photography. The photos are really beautiful. I will follow you for your future post.

It's Really a good post and more important matter @surpassinggoogle you are sharing and resteemed some best post in steemit.thank you

Thanks @mdsajjad! I didn't notice it was resteemed by @surpassinggoogle. Thanks for informing me. I always feel honored whenever Steemians resteem my post. I feel like I did a good job telling my story. I hope this story inspires everyone. I'll continue making stories for everyone. Keep on Steeming!

Hi @wincee! Thank you so much. I would really love to go back in Myanmar. There's still so much to see and experience.

Bro! @legendarryll how good and amazing it is! Congratulations bro :)

You deserved something big! Big big big rewards for this amazing blog. :)

Hi @jassennessaj! Thank you! I heard a lot of great things about you from our team. Hoping I can attend the next Cebu meet-up to finally meet you and other cebuano Steemians. Thanks again!

You're very much welcome!

may nanalo na naman! such a good read @legendaryll!

Nagnaning na siya @smaeunabs as iyang writing skills. Imba na kaayo.

ayyy di pa diay to imba pag una hahahahahahah iba ka @legendaryll

Thank you @smaeunabs! inspired lang to write more content. haha

Please continue on making such! Grabe sangko langit akong bilib ninyong duha

Really amazing @legendarryll! Last week you took us to Indonesia, now you're taking us to Myanmar!

Thanks @thegaillery! Great photographs take people to places.

Thank you for sharing @legendarryll! Have you been to the parts of Myanmar that require permits?

Hi @hidobo! For 9days, I've been to Yangon, Bagan, Inle and Mandalay. All without the need for a permit. I'm not sure though on other parts of Myanmar. Is there a particular place you have in mind?

I was thinking of going to Shan or Karen states, to get off the beaten path. But maybe there is no point.

I was able to go to Inle lake in Shan state. I didn't have any problems getting in. I'm writing about it soon. @hidobo

Superb photos and storytelling. Nice to see other photographers on here.

Hi @markangeltrueman! Thank you so much.There's a lot of great photographers here on Steemit. We all can get inspiation from them.

Your photos are amazing! Also, very informative posts!

Amazing as usual..makes the reader soaked up in your post and wants to wait for more posts from you. So proud of you @legendarryll!

Thanks @wandergirl! I'm enjoying my stay here on Steemit. I'll forever be grateful to you for introducing to me this awesome platform.

Wow kuya am a fan!Follow kita ha?

Hi @immarojas! Sure! Finollow din kita. I'm always happy whenever I interact with fellow Filipinos. I hope there'll be a meet-up someday that everyone from all parts of the country can attend. Keep on Steeming!

Oh thank you! U can give me feedback then thu i use samsung. An aspiring but with no proper cam😃😃

Sure! It's never about the gear. What matters most are the eyes behind the lens. @immarojas :)

I love that..eyes behind the lens ;)

This blog entry is indeed mesmerizing. The soft light of the photos is able to givd glow of your shots. This is worth more than how it should be. Two thumbs up.

Hi @alfredotongco! Thank you so much. I'm glad you liked this series. Based on your words, we share the same passion for photography. :)

Wow... Learnt so much already with this post. You inspired me this morning.

Thank you @phait! I'm glad you learned something from my series.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01