You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If your post is yours - that is great!

in #photography7 years ago

This is a really good point. Steemit is the perfect place to share new ideas and spread knowledge and differing perspectives. Its also very easy to blanket the forum in crap with hopes of making money. Sometimes its hard to even find good posts because they are so quickly buried in mounds of garbage. But I guess that makes finding good post all the more rewarding. Though my posts are all original ideas, I sometimes include stock photos from the internet because they fit the content or maybe because I don't feel creative enough to use my own photos. However, your post has actually made me consider using my own pictures as well to supplement my writing content to make the entire piece more authentic. Its a really good point to consider. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Sort:  

Just refer to the author - it will be honest

As long as you indicate the source, i am good with it. It possibly gives an opportunity for that guy to sell if you are providing a link to high quality image source.

So you are talking more about plagiarism then - is that right?

I am talking about people who take some photo, dump it on steemit without even a source and want upvotes. When somebody is creating a written content and needs an illustration i am ok, if he adds a photo directing to the author of the image. In the ideal world such an image would be acquired before including into your content, but i am being realistic here. Imagine i start copying great content that has been written by great writers, slap an image of mine on it and start monetizing it. Would look right, yes? It is actually the same just vice versa. People take somebody's photo, scrabble a few words and they think it is ok. It is ethics right now, but i am looking into blockchain technology to find a way, how to track each usage of an image by digitally signing it. So authors get credited or paid for the content they have produced.

I see. That makes a lot of sense and I agree. I think you are on to something with your blockchain idea.

We will see, i am busy with my other startup right now, that helps photographers, models etc to find jobs without the middlemen that take up to 70% of freelancers pay. But i believe they can both work together.

Nice. That is a good idea

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59531.52
ETH 2678.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43