The Wallowa Mountains: Hidden Gem Of The Pacific Northwest Part 3 of 3

in #photography7 years ago

The final morning brings a spectacular light show. It was 15 degrees Fahrenheit ( -9 Celsius). The clouds and the light were dancing partners...


This the 3rd and final installment of my photos from this year's elk hunt in the Wallowa Mountains.

You can see Part 1 here.

You can see Part 2 here.

.

The clouds slowly lift off the mountain in time with the rising sun.

 

.

 

.

 

The light demands attention, but the clouds continue to try to upstage the performance.

 

.

 

.

 

.

 

The moving moisture disperses the light, revealing a fresh blanket of snow.

 

.

 

.

 

It's easy to forget the valley below. But the light begins to reveal a wider world.

 

 

.

 

The sunrise reaches out across the valley to touch the mountain.

 

Snow covered trees become the projection screen, showcasing the sunrise.

 

.

 

Light rays pierce through the shadows...

...and finally, win the battle for light.

 

The shifting of clouds almost makes it seem like several sunrises happening back-to-back.

 

 

Snowshoe tracks, left by a rabbit that was up and foraging for food before the sun and I arrived.

 

 

This decorated tree was holding more than seemed realistic.

 

 

On the shaded side of the ridge, the snow-screen was reflecting blue sky.

 

.

 

.

 

Heading down the mountain. No elk today.

 

The view from the back porch of the ranch house.

 

Icecicles form a frame.

 

Icecicles become the subject.

 

 

This cold night was enough to freeze the pond over from the night before.

 

Looking back at the mountains from the valley below.

 

.

 

.

 

.

 

Farewell to Ruby Peak, until next year...

 

Hello!

My name is Cody Limbaugh. If you liked this, you might also like my other content.

Keep up with the best of my work, contact me directly, and get exclusive content: hit the red button to subscribe to my free weekly update:


Live All Your Life is a project of discovery. My aim is to live with intention, to get the most out of life, and to share my discoveries with you.

Providing value is important to me, so I often write about techniques that I've found to work well in my life.

I think having rich experiences is a critical component of living well, so I often share my travels.

It's important to me to develop a deep sense of curiosity and relentless personal development, so I also write about learning and various topics and skills that I'm currently working on.

I've been a fitness coach for the past 13 years. I now write for three fitness sites.

I believe that authenticity is critical to living a good life, so I strive to rise above cultural norms and expectations.

Sort:  

Beautiful!

upvote and resteem ^^

That's some amazing scenery! :)

that sunset looks awesomely spectacularly gorgeous and show all its glory in that golden rays of the sunset, you got to love sunset to feel the way i am feeling ..... woooooow. and the icicles looks beautiful , finally winter has arrived

Good and beautiful photos, I invite you to go through my blog, greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84