How to take amazing iPhone photography

in #photography7 years ago

If you love photography but don’t own a DLSR (fancy camera), remember that your phone is a great way to capture some amazing images. I use my phone constantly to capture my everyday life when I’m not carrying around my camera.

This is a photo I took when I visited Vatican City in Rome and it’s my favourite picture I’ve ever taken and edited using my phone. Also, when you’re traveling you can’t always take your camera with you so your phone is a great alternative.



To take a great image, make sure that before you take the picture, that you click on the subject of the photograph, this will ensure that your subject is A) in focus and B) has the correct lighting.

Also, if you want to snap like a pro make sure you follow the guidelines for composure, that is ensuring that the elements of your picture are arranged in such a way that highlights the subject of your photograph and adds to the overall look of the image. There are no fixed rules, but these guidelines can often help you to enhance the impact of your photos. There are lots of ways to do this, and I plan on writing a more detailed post about it at a later date.

I will just highlight two in this post that I use most:

The Rule of Thirds:

Image by Trey Ratcliff.

Imagine that your image is divided into 9 equal segments as shown in the image above. This guideline suggests says that the main subject of your photograph should fall along these lines, or at the points where they intersect. Notice how the building and the horizon fall along these lines.

Symmetry and patterns:

Image by Fabio Montalto.   

Once you start looking, you will see symmetry everywhere and this can create an eye-catching photograph and give a new perspective to the scene. You can also break these rules which can add to the picture. Notice how the bucket the right-hand corner of the image breaks the symmetry.

Editing apps

There are also some amazing editing apps out there, personally, I use Snapseed because it gives me everything I need and the design of the app and editing process is really simple and easy to use. There are other really great apps but the one that is right for you really depends on what you need from the app. Other top apps are:

• Vsco

• Camera+

• Enlight

• Cortex Camera

I even use Instagram quite a bit as is a great editing tool as long as you don't over-edit the image. I always recommend editing​ the images settings such as brightness and contrast before choosing a filter, if you need one at all.   

I really hope this post was of interest to you, and if you liked it please upvote it and leave a comment as to what you would like to see next. Happy Snapping!

If you want to see more of my pictures follow my Instagram @laurenengland!   


Sort:  

Thanks i've downloaded snapseed immediately

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74