You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TheScubaSherpa | Bubble Mirror

in #photography7 years ago

No, no problems...he just needed medical attention. This was 1986 when the world wasn't sure if manatees would be around in 2017. He'd been hit by a boat and had a gnarly infection and they asked for volunteers to capture him for minor surgery and major antibiotics. I held his face during the debridement of the wound. First he struggled and even tried to bite me, but I've worked with horses and I was able to block the worst of his nipping with my pointy elbow. Then, I guess whatever the vet was doing started to give relief, or he just gave up, because he rested his face in my arms and started humming. I helped feed him over his weeks at that stupid alligator farm-zoo until his release and he used to come out to where we held our dive classes and beg for cabbage until the tourist season got real busy, or maybe he finally found his friends again.

Sort:  

Very cool story to have such close contact and glad he recovered. Manatees seem like such gentle creatures. Hate to see them get hit by boats but I'm guessing there is not much to prevent it when humans and manatees are frequenting the same waters.

Wow, very cool. Glad you could help. Do you still work/help there?

No...my boyfriend back then was ridiculously jealous of the dude who owned the dive shop I worked with just north of Clearwater. He was jealous I got the job of dive assistant, mostly because I already knew how to pilot a boat, swam like a fish, had adventure tourism experience. Glen really really wanted a girl on the team to make seasick chicken liver-ed wives enjoy the scuba experience too. Anyway, our last big blowout fight over this ended with this jerk knocking some of my teeth loose and me breaking his ribs when I threw him into the kitchen table. His momma wanted to press charges, so I ran home to my momma before I got arrested and have been in southwestern Virginia ever since.

That will teach him to mess with @ladyktryn. Glad you were able to get out of that relationship.

Dang, that took a turn lol. Glad that you're happier now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29