METALLICA EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemies!

Tomorow is another big day for me, @silvergingerman and I are going to our other concert we have been waiting months to see, Guns n Roses and Our Lady Peace will be the Opening Act. Two great bands of my childhood, one clearly better than the other but I'm still pretty excited to see both. Currently Watching the 6 o'clock news and they are saying GNR will deliver over 3 hours of music and a set list of 29 + songs. I never thought I would ever see Axle Rose and Slash on the same stage together getting along in my lifetime never-mind getting 3 hours of it! Maybe that's why the tour is called Never in this lifetime. hehe

Ok, I have to stop for a moment and report on something unrelated, also on the news...Don't eat food off the floor and there is no such thing as the 5 second rule !?! What ? Thanks for the life saving tip ctv news, I'll try to remember that in the future... With everything going on in the world, That's your big story, bravo you deserve the award for the biggest waste of national broadcasting. You can't make that stuff up.

Now back to the task at hand, a few weeks ago, we went to Metallica's last show of the Worldwired North-American stadium tour with Gojira and Avenged Sevenfold in Edmonton,Ab and I have some pictures taken at the show for you. My Photo equipment isn't allowed at these events, all pictures were taken with iphone 6.

metallica.jpg

Those of you who are old enough to remember the Napster debacle and their album that followed, St-Anger , surely enough they lost a few esteem points for that! Not just with myself but probably many of their fans , for almost a decade I ignored anything Metallica and saw their move as stardom suicide. I suppose, they can't go unforgiven forever and I had to give them another chance.

metallca.jpg

I am happy to say they have totally redeemed themselves! I have been to many large concerts but this was my first outdoor stadium or Metallica show and they killed it giving the best show I have ever been to in my lifetime and I will certainly remember that night forever. They played over two and a half hours of their greatest songs, medleys and a tribute to Cliff Burton for 60,000 screaming fans and offering the grandest pyrotechnics display I have ever seen. We were about half of the stadium away from the stage and we could feel extreme heat, I can just imagine those headbanging away in the mosh pit must have felt like. What an experience! They ended the show with a 4 song encore and a short "thank you Edmonton" video of their day in our beautiful city.

metallica2.jpg

metallica3.jpg

Just when you think it doesn't get any better, because it was the last show of the the tour they live streamed the entire show for free to all of their fans that couldn't attend. The show can now be found on youtube to be watched over and over again. Yes, as I am writing this, I'm reliving my Metallica experience of a lifetime from my TV. The youtube webcast is called "metallica live edmonton(august 16th 2017)" if you want to watch.

metallica4.jpg

metallica5.jpg

To top it all off,the merch booth had all kinds of personalized swag for each city of their show from T-shirts to limited edition hand numbered and signed posters provided by Ames Bros. Of course if you know anything about Canadians, it's our love and pride for hockey. The Edmonton poster featured our icon #99 Wayne Gretzky (400 made). We also received a present in the mail, we each got a copy of their latest cd, HARDWIRED...TO SELF DESTRUCT and we are expecting a live cd of the Edmonton show to arrive in the mail anytime. WOW talk about honoring your fans!!! Napster who?? what bad album?? no sweat Metallica , all is forgotten hehe.

metallica6.jpg

I found and interesting link from teamrock.com commemorating the 30 year anniversary of the "master of puppets" album for the fans that want to impress their friends with their knowledge.

http://teamrock.com/feature/2016-03-03/30-things-you-might-not-know-about-master-of-puppets

Thank you @silvergingerman for taking me to the show, thank you Metallica for the greatest night ever , thank you to my followers for reading!

Here is @silvergingerman 's post and pictures of the event
https://steemit.com/metallica/@silvergingerman/last-stop-for-metallica-2017

Rock on !!

Sort:  

I love the puns! It was a most excellent time indeed!

i'm sure it wont be the last time we see them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62241.82
ETH 2433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57