Edmonton street art collection #2: Rust Magic international street art festival part 2 - 2019 - OneQsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hey steemies!

2019 was the Rust Magic's fourth year of painting vibrant walls across our city with over 50 walls hidden within the heart of our city painted by various local and international artists over the years. The festival has started gaining attention, every year welcomes more artists and building owners offering their walls to paint as the once underground art form is punching it's way mainstream. The idea is to offer and promote public art and free expression in a non-destructive way while bringing a city together and show our true colors and culture one wall at a time.

DSC_7198.JPG
Shot 1/320 sec. f/5.3 65 mm, ISO 400

One of the highlights of this year's festival and probably first on my list to find was this mysterious sexy mermaid eating a cucumber painted by Japanese Artist OneQ. First of all, Purple/ turquoise/blue color scheme has always been my favorite, huge points for that! OneQ is known for her sultry modern pin-ups with luscious lips and enhanced feminine features & curves influenced by Japanese and American comics. Our great lady and her sexy mermaids will also be part of the Vancouver landscape in her 2019 appearance in the local mural festival as her second Canadian stop of her tour.

https://www.facebook.com/oneq.pinup/

https://www.instagram.com/negiyakisoba/?hl=en

https://beautifulbizarre.net/2016/02/04/exclusive-interview-with-oneq/

crystal.jpg
Shot 1/500 sec. f/6.3 200 mm, ISO 800

oneq-2.jpg
1/500 sec. f/6.3 200 mm, ISO 800

I tried looking on information about the artist but very limited in what I was able to find aside from the interview linked above. Perhaps a rising star in the making? At least for North America? The rest of her art is worth checking out and prints of her work can be found for sale on various online pages. Mermaid eating a cucumber can be found in our downtown's ice district (The home of the Oilers and Roger's place) near 103 ave and 105 st. She covers the entire side of a mostly 1 story building with part of her hair being on the smaller second story only occupying part of the building. It was a little awkward to photograph as a whole so I broke it up into sections and close ups, I didn't want to miss any of the details in the masterpiece.

DSC_7187.JPG
Shot 1/125 sec. f/5.6 40 mm, ISO 220

Of course as soon as this was ready for the viewing, both @silvergingerman and I were drooling over the mermaid and made a point to go look for it on our way back from the downtown area even if that was the only one we could find. We had our chance to take pictures of it while it's super fresh and only a few days old, dirt didn't even have time to touch it yet! Turns out walk around the buildings in that entire block and there is a treasure trove of hidden gems by other famous artists from this year or past year of Rust Magic's appearance I will cover in the near future. If you find yourself in our downtown core and want some photography fun, killer selfies or just admire art, check it out. I plan on going back with my crystal ball, I kinda rushed it to get a look at the other walls and it as beginning to rain and all the drops were messing with my crystal view. Here is the rest of her hair in the picture below, looks like she saved food for later in her luscious hair!

DSC_7172.JPG
Shot 1/125 sec. f/5.6 18 mm, ISO 200

DSC_7177.JPG
Shot 1/125 sec. f/5.6 34 mm, ISO 220

DSC_7221.JPG

Thank you OneQ for visiting our city with your mermaids and visual explosions of sexy, come back to Edmonton and paint any time!

Cheers my friends! X🐞X

Sort:  

Manually curated by PhotoStreem: The Photography Tribe
Join Photostreem DISCORD

CURATOR.jpg

WOw thats a cool Mural and Iso cool the shots with the crystal ball :)

I love when cities welcome art like this

It's a fairly new concept but we have a young progressive mayor that is committed into transforming our city into a cultural destination instead of the rusty old fart that was here forever. The wall art also minimizes unsightly tags and vandalism.

Thats great and I think its good to have artistic murals than some of the garbage tagging in places, I would love to see more cities embrace it

I agree! It makes the cities more friendly looking and inviting. I personally think it's a great initiative.

there some good one sin NYC and there often changing or new ones going up I love getting out and tracking them down

Oh I can just imagine NY!!! So much better than Edmonton!! I get jealous of some of the places you get to visit regularly.

I am lucky to work in the city, never imagined that would come to be when I was growing up in New Zealand

I bet not!! The places life takes us sometimes. When I was young, It's all I ever wanted. Now as I grow older, I want to go back to the simple life in the mountains, I'm not ready yet tho. :)

Congratulations @ladybug146! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1250 replies. Your next target is to reach 1500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hello @ladybug146, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks for stopping by and promoting my work!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65