Backyard bird talk #2 : Hottest yard in the neighborhood & a betsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemies!!

red breasted nuthatch.jpg

Man oh man our humble little feeder filled black sunflower seed is HOT! To recap last post and a few additional details to help me keep track of the activity over time as I try to build a bit of a backyard bird sanctuary for winter and next summer, we got a new fence and moved the only item in the backyard and now birds are all over it like it's a free for all! Well, I guess it kinda is. I had time to watch and identify what has been visiting, long or short term and their habits. I had pictures of House Finch, White breasted Nuthatch and Black Caped Chickadee's. Other species noticed with no pictures was the average Sparrow, some really mega-fat Magpies (they eat from the messy neighbors garbage not our seeds) I can't figure out for the life of me how they are still able to fly, they look like turkeys, I might have to try to take a pic to show you. Last but not least there is the stupid crow.

https://steemit.com/photography/@ladybug146/backyard-talk-the-post-about-nothing-sunday-ramble

finch6.jpg
Shot 1/160 sec. f/5.6 300 mm, ISO 800. House finch with a sparrow in the background(the yellow beak).

finch (3).jpg
Shot 1/250 sec. f/5.6 300 mm, ISO 720. Looks like we might have a
purple finch in the mix, hard to tell, they are starting to grow into
their adult feathers now and they look awkward.

This week, there was a few additions to the avian backyard family! Turns out the finches and chickadee's definitely live here long term up in the big ol' tree. I could hear them all summer, they have such a pretty sing and both very hyper chatter when they are mini chiketies. All day long, both families with at least 4-5 chicks + parents each can be seen flying around the tree and feeder from morning until night and they are the food boss with full control of who feeds there and enforce some sort of a seniority pecking order. New birds get to start with the scraps on the ground around the tree and work their way up to he feeder after a few days of sticking around and getting along showing enough balls to eat next to the cat...haha, mean birds gee. The sparrow is still feeding, seems like the white breasted nuthatch was just here for a couple days but a couple of red breasted nuthatch came to take it's place.

red breasted nuthatch (1) (1).jpg
Shot 1/125 sec. f/5.6 300 mm ISO 1000. Red breasted nuthatch digging
in the bark for food.

I could hear a blue jay for about a week and I finally spotted it but as soon as I got a hold of my camera he flew away. Close but no cigar...Go figure, now I know there is one around to attract. Yesterday, I was doing my usual backyard bird monitoring with the help of Prince Kit-Ten and noticed a woodpecker, he stayed for at least an hour mostly hidden in the leaves digging his hole, looked pretty young and small, maybe it's looking for territory! I have to get better pictures, he was a little shy and I didn't want to spook. I still have to find out more info on what type, I'm kinda bird dumb and it's a fairly new interest at least the identification and how to attract them (feel free to correct me if I get any of them wrong). I dunno if he'll be back, he got booted off the feeder by the teenage finches. Kinda why I want more feeders, they are real mini-douchebags but so adorable all at the same time.

DSC_7862 (2).JPG
Woodpecker, still have to figure what type, downy?

Since I like learning new skills and have new life experiences. I always liked backyard birds but they are too skittish for my photography patience so @silvergingerman and I made a bet that by the end of next summer, I will have them trained to eat out of my hand and get nice close up photos of them since I was already able to attract almost a dozen types of visitors or residents already. The wager? 5 oz of silver(given prices didn't go to the moon, if wishful thinking happens, then just 1). You guys and gals think I can pull it off? Let me remind you....My bird seeds brings all the birds to the yard!

black caped chikadee.jpg
Shot 1/250 sec. f/5.6 300 mm, ISO 450. Black capped chickadee, this cutie is still young and he's like an inch and a half tall.

I was a little nervous about attracting the winged wildermini's to the yard because of the cat, he used to be feral and still posses some feral qualities but I keep a close eye on him and he actually loves these birds so much! I know it's a tall order but it can be done since I used to have a cat that would let the birds land on him. The poor Min-Min sits right at the bottom of the feeder looking up for most of the day and waits to talk to them, I don't think he realizes by hanging out right there, he's kinda keeping them away, too cute tho. They are starting to get comfortable around him and getting closer, the finches even stay a while and chat, he loves it and purrs at them. His favorite is the red breasted nuthatch tiny little creature that likes to climb up and down the tree searching the bark for moss and bugs. Obviously he will only come to the base if Kit-Ten is a few feet away, I think he's starting to figure out how bird-watching works. Being feral at one point, he still likes to do his claws on thick tree bark so he has switched his regular spot and digs out new random spots for his buddy then walks away for the bird to comes down and feed from the fresh finds and he gets a closer look that way. Clever kitty!

red breasted nuthatch2.jpg
Shot 1/250 sec. f/5.6 300 mm, ISO 640. Kit-Ten's little nuthatch buddy that he digs food for, it's a pretty tiny one too.

min-min2 (2).jpg
Shot 1/250 sec. f/5.6 300 mm, ISO 560. Kit-Ten watching the bird
from the bottom of the tree.

I wonder if that is something he has learned from us? Caring for smaller critters and helping them secure food and protection like we do for him. Maybe he sees the yard as an extension of the house (it's fully enclosed an 6 ft tall) and we feed the birds too therefore they are adopted wild family members like him. I wouldn't put it passed him, he's smart enough to make connections like that just like bringing stray cats in distress that need food or rescue and will care for the teenage kittens left unattended outside by their owners and accompany them around the neighborhood until their safe return home. Good to know he has a genuine interest in helping the birds but he still likes to hunt land animals, he might come in handy in keeping predators like squirrels away from the birds...Don't worry Min-Min, the crow already got him! And I had to watch 😩😩😩

min-min1.jpg
Shot 1/125 sec. f/5.6 300 mm, ISO 1400

Obviously under the House Finch / Black Caped Chickadee joint dictatorship and our new found popularity, we will have to add more feeders with some variety to keep everyone happy and save the newcomers from getting pushed off the feeder. Over the next little while I will be doing research on what species are compatible so I don't have turf wars and how to provide adequate winter shelter and a heated bird bath to get thru the -40 cold spells with all the necessities. I will keep you posted as my brainstorm and project progress. If all the feathered friends remain safe maybe we'll make Prince Kit-Ten the official backyard bird-keeper next summer! I'm watching Kit...Lord of the birds!

finch (4) (1).jpg
Shot 1/200 sec. f/5.6 300 mm, ISO 800

In the meantime, I have a trip planed to Red Deer and visit family and the Bowden sunflower maze soon. They sell seeds, might be a good idea to get some organic seeds for next spring to grow some sunflowers along the fence for Kit's birdies. Just like any of my recent excursion to the park, zoo, U of A butterfly house etc, I'll bring you the details anytime between now and next year!! Haha. Lets get serious tho, I will try to do another Rust Magic wall/artist before we leave. We found some of them already, old and new and they are magnificent and I got some badass pictures to bring you.

finch5 (1).jpg
Shot 1/200 sec. f/5.6 300 mm, ISO 800

My bird seeds brings all the birds to the yard. And they're like, it's better than yours. Damn right it's better than yours....lol reworded version of Kellis - Milkshake!!

Images taken with Nikon D7000 and Nikkor 70-300

Cheers! X🐞X

Sort:  

Great photos as always! I am fully confident you will have them trained before summer is done. Your cat has such gorgeous blue eyes. Safe travels to Red Deer. I have friends there. 😍

Thanks! That's ambitious, lol I might. Going to try training them with peanut butter. His eyes are so striking, expressive too like you can almost tell what he's thinking. Small world! ever been to Red Deer while you were hanging around the Rockies?

I have never been to Red Deer. My friend and I met on a tour of Europe. He grew up in Red Deer. Later we met up in Australia and then last year he came to Seattle and we went to a Guns n Roses concert. 🤣😂🤣

Next time I get to Alberta, Red Deer and Edmonton are on my list.

G N R ...Awesome!! It's a really good show, I had so much fun when they came to Edmonton. That's pretty cool to make connections like that abroad. I have yet to visit Vancouver and obviously when I go I have to spend a few days in Seattle because I hear they re really close...I might need a tour guide of all the cool city art and culture!

YAY!! lol if you come in like dead middle of summer, I'm usually not working and we
would have time to help you explore the Prairie beauty....mountains too!! Don't forget Drumheller!! It's sorta between Calgary and Red deer. It's the biggest fossil database in the world at the Royal Tyrell Museum. You can also spot fossils just walking around and looking at the surface stones sometimes. Edmonton is so loaded with festivals, everyday of summer, something is getting celebrated somewhere, there is too many to choose from it gets frustrating having to decide sometimes.

Great post! I get envious of not having a backyard just for the possibility of having a feeder and be able to take a good look of all the cool birds. Although I wouldn't trust on any cat being around them... 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, I totally know what it's like to live with no backyard, it sucks. Mind you mine is still just 12 ft by 12 feet but It still fits a thing or 2.

You know there are other ways to have similar experience without a backyard. Any public land like wetlands or lakes where you see birds chilling or even city parks where there are a lot of trees, learn to identify the species that visit and learn what they like to eat that would be part of their natural diet but not necessarily available in the area (obviously be mindful and use organic products with no pesticides or chemicals because they can be really sensitive to that)and bring some of that item regularly, scatter it in their hangout, just sit and wait near by, they catch on pretty quick if you are consistent. I do that with Canada geese and Ducks, I swear they remember us year after year and follow us all over with their babies even when we have no food.

https://steemit.com/travel/@ladybug146/soooo-many-peeps-and-the-last-minute-endangered-wood-bison-500-wild-cuteness-inside

I normally wouldn't trust cats around the birds too much either but he used to be bullied when he was feral and I think that traumatized him I don't think he wants to hurt anything living ever. Even the mice he hunts, he doesn't hurt or kill them, he catches them gently and wants to bring them live into the house. He's like a pay it forward kinda cat that wants to rescue everything. I do watch him the whole time tho.

You know there are other ways to have similar experience without a backyard

I know, been birdwatching for more than 20 years! ;) But a feeder just makes things easier! eheheheh

Oh ok then lol!! I'm used to explaining the experience to some that never thought of that!! Didn't mean to bore you, suppose I just get scared that people try to recreate these experiences without knowing and feed harmful food, I see it all the time and it kinda stings! It does make things easier with a feeder if you can get birds to show up. Anytime access to them is nice, I still like the thrill of the hunt tho.

You didn't bored me at all! :) I love the hunt thrill too... and actually it's a great excuse to travel! ;)

You are absolutely right! My plan is to capture as many Canadian wildlife species as I can plant/animal or avian.

Great pics again!
I’d say a downy, the hairy’s bill is very long... maybe twice as long as the downy...and they are a bit larger in body size... after wateching them you will start to notice the slight difference in body size

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks!

Well I have seen a Hairy woodpecker and their bill is more yellow as well. This one was a dark oaky color. I haven't seen to many woodpeckers, that's the second one I get to have a bit of a closer look. They are kind of elusive here and tend to hang out more in the leaves where you can't see them. you are right about the difference in size. That one was half the size of my other encounter but it also looked young still. So the red stripes on the face is that the difference in plumage between male/female?

A little red dot on top of the head is a juvenile male, as it matures it moves to the back of the head... females have no red...
Sometimes a bit of variation too, one side of the Continent to the other..
I really wish birds would be more cooperative when trying to photograph or identify... lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

lol no shit!! She did get booted from the feeder by the finch bullies I also don't blame her for being shy.

I don't think I saw any red at all, that's what I was looking for too. I try to give them space anyway when they first get to the yard so they can get comfortable enough to come back. I never paid much attention to birds when I lived on the east coast, I kinda wish I had to be able to compare.

That colourful and awesome bird in your first photos and the black-capped I saw also in Ontario!! I should buy a 300 mm lens too to try to make your great job :) :) (And a better camera than Canon 700d which still is not bad but.... you know)

Thanks! The first bird is Kit's buddy, Red Breasted Nuthatch. He watched the finches bully him now the cat looks after it.

Ever considered looking on the second hand market? Ever looked into Nikon? I don't know much about canons but I did look up the specs, still a very nice starter camera. I have found great lenses for half of the retail selling price that I still use today on the used market, check it out . Some people just abandon photography and fire sell all their gear for dirt cheap to get it out of the way but that's a patience game if you already have basics to work with while you wait.

For birdwatching 300mm minimum is a pre-requisite and I'm considering adding an extra 1.4X tele to bump it up to 420mm to my gear in the future, there is no way around it, even I find it very limiting but the bigger the lens the harder it is to move around when hiking and they get really expensive. Some of these birds are really small especially in the juvenile stage and if they don't have enough space, they will not come. When I first started taking pictures of that chikadee, he was just a little bigger than my thumb when he began to fly to the feeder.

If you are going to change your body entirely, are you looking to go mirror-less?

Thanks for your detailed response. You're right, moving around is limited with large accessories or lens. I have an idea of moving with the tripods is often more difficult. I bought a Canon 700d second hand one year before coming to Canada. (280 euro with less 300 shoots). When I was in Algonquin Park last winter I saw a photographer with a 420mm lens. At the moment I am planning to keep make practice with my Canon 700d. In the near future, I am planning another lens. I do not know Nikon very much but with Canon almost all accessories are compatible, the main reason I found and I chose that camera, plus the cost I mentioned before. That's why your job was great is not easy to capture such an animal when is going to move and/or specific moment of it :) :)

Nice!! you got a sweet deal on your camera with really low usage then!! That's how it starts. You will know when you've outgrown it and time to move on, I started with second hand Nikon D40x and I used to get killer shots with, I miss it sometimes. Your camera as it stands even has some features that are better than mine (because my camera is like 8 or 9 yrs old, I only have like 14 mgpixel) Don't feel in a rush to upgrade your body and do research. A lot of people think photography is in the device and it does somewhat help but a lot of it is skill, light manipulation and framing. In other words, practice, trial and error and experience...lol. To get new lenses cheaper, sigma has good gear too but make sure you get one with the right canon mount ,they make lenses for many camera brands but don't cheap out too much, sometimes it's not worth it, read reviews first.

What lens do you have now and what are you looking to get?

Nikon like canon has the same lens mount for all the bodies across the Nikon brand except for the new mirrorless tech. Realistically you can buy mount adapters to use incompatible lens too. When I do go mirrorless, I will get one to be able to use my old lenses.

I totally agree with you it is a matter of practice rather than the device. At the moment I hold just 18-55mm lens. I do not think to change the body in the near future maybe I will buy a larger lens, or also I heard it is possible also to borrow for a while. I did not know Nikon the lens of Nikon was compatible with the ones of Canon. It is better to read different reviews before buying anything and also better to keep the old lenses if they are still useful. Thanks again for your response

The mount isn't compatible between Canon and Nikon without an adapter, you shouldn't go down that road unless you decide to completely switch over one day. What I was saying like canon works with any canon gear, Nikon works with most nikon gear.

Renting is an excellent option to test it out before you buy if you are not sure before making the commitment to buy. Yes always keep your upgrade in mind when buying lenses, it saves on cost. By now I have over half dozen lenses, would be expensive to have to buy all that again at once in new technology! Reuse what I can first.

What awesome shots your sure attracting a lot of beautiful birds into your backyard

As for the bet I think you can do it ;)

Thanks, all that from moving the bird feeder 3 feet over and a taller fence!! We had that thing sitting in the yard birdless for years. It will be interesting to find out what else I can attract with different foods and try to physically interact at least!

I think with patience you will get there as they build up trust for you 😎👍😎

That furry bird sure looks to be watching the flying ones pretty closely. Nice portrait of the furball, though!

Thanks!! I can't believe how intrigued he is by them and excited he is to care for them, he watches their every move. He's definitely a total cutie my big Siamese ginger.

Hello @ladybug146, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you for stopping by and taking interest!! xox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95