The Old Dog Experiences: A Twice in a Lifetime Occasion!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

On Sunday night my son and I were driving home from Lugano and what we saw absolutely blew our minds! The clouds had formed into conical swirls that turned from white to red/orange as the sun set. They were so unusual, so mesmerisingly beautiful, that we stared in amazement and scurried frantically to take photos! 

The only time that I had ever seen anything that was as uniquely beautiful was about 40 years ago when I witnessed the dancing light show that is the Northern Lights.

Check Out These Pictures They Are NOT Touched up or Filtered!


This shot was taken from the balcony of our house which is at about 800 meters. I still can't believe what I saw! Taken with an Olympus OM-D E-M10 Mark II and the next one with a iPhone 5


This shot was taken from down in the valley about 20 minutes before the one that you see above.


People everywhere were stopping their cars to take pictures and everyone was in dropped jaw mode as we speculated on what could possibly have caused the phenomena! One man even stated that it looked like the end of the world. It was too beautiful and tranquil for that I said to myself.  There was some talk that it was the result of a brush fire that had destroyed a forest the previous day. 

What do You Think?

  • Have you ever seen anything like it?
  • Do you have any idea as to what could have caused it?
  • Have you ever witnessed the Northern Lights?

I hope that you enjoyed this article about "A Twice in a Lifetime Occasion!"


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Sort:  

Brilliant shots!

Thanks a lot for sharing this magnificence with us all. This is the sort of things I used to see when I lived in Terrace, British Columbia.

Some areas of our world are prosper for cloud formations and the confluences of three major rivers in the area, on top of being right on the Northwest Pacific Coast, only a hundred kilometres away from the converging currents coming from both Alaska, on one hand, and Northern California on the other where they are meeting in Haida Gwaii, creates some of the most spectacular cloud spectacles I have ever seen. the water vapours from the Pacific Ocean build up against the pressure of the Coastal Mountains stopping the moisture from moving forth unimpeded. From there, the humidity laden air compresses against the mountains and is pushed up by the trend winds. they funnel in the paths of least resistance where the deep river valleys are found and, of course, concentrate their inflow into the main channels. In the case presenting itself in Terrace, BC, it is the mighty Skeena River that offers this opportunity. When deep river valleys aren't present, it is often large wide valley, land masses that are smooth and easy for the winds and moisture to travel through. I think it may very well be the case here in your picture. Let me know... ;)

The one you are sharing with us here is breathtaking and I'm so glad you had the occasion of photographing it, with such quality too!

Thanks again for another great post and occasion to share on this topic of beauty.

Namaste :)

You've had many magical moments living where you do. This was definately one of my greatest.

I'm from Locarno, I sow that, it was amazing:-)

Wow, sono molto contento che hai trovato la mia pagina. Qui in Ticino siamo in diversi: @airmatti, @steemitri, @lellabird60 @peterparker ed altri. Sei hai bisogno di qualsiasi informazione o aiuto mi fai sapere!

Grazie anch'io, ora vado a vedere chi conosco, sono giá curiosa:-)

Did you take any pictures?

No but I was with a friend and he toke a good picture:-)

Wow, che spettacolo!!! Ho appena fatto 10 minuti fa un post simile, ma io abito in veneto e il fenomeno non è stato così accentuato come nel nord del piemonte o lombardia e bassa Svizzera. Le tue foto sono pazzesche, sopratutto la prima, il rosso ha un'intensità incredibile.

Infatti tutta la zona è stata trasformata. Sei nel Veneto? Il mio suocero era da Asolo! Vado lì abbastanza spesso! Vado a veder il tuo blog!

Si sono di Thiene, non so se la conosci, ma da Asolo saranno 30 km 35 al massimo, dunque quando vieni non sei molto distante da casa mia. Per dirti domani vado a mangiare dai parenti a Bassano e li siamo vicinissimi :). Grazie per essere passato per il mio blog.

Amazing pics. I would have guessed they were edited or polarizer / filter combination applied otherwise.

It was so incredible.

Isn't nature just the most incredible thing. Haven't ever seen anything like that, must be some pretty unique weather conditions that create those incredible patterns. I'm new to Steemit and look forward to seeing lots more amazing images.

Yes nature can take your breath away. Welcome to Steemit, it's a fun place to be!

WOW, how gorgeous phenomenon! Undulatus Asperatus! Looks as if it would be on another planet! They are very strange and rare cloud forms. I think, Mother Nature is the greatest artist at all.
Unfortunately I've never seen such a sky, and even didn't see Northern light, though it can appear in Hungary (very rarely, after a sun-flare). What caused this? Extreme weather and climate change, but I don't think it has any connection with chemtrails or HAARP.

Yes they did not seem to be chemtrail clouds. The time that I saw the northern lights was one of my single most greatest moments in nature.

Wow! I have never seen anything quite like this before. You managed to get some amazing shots. Thanks for sharing these.

Yes, it was a great evening!

WOW! WOW! WOW!

Very impressive Old Dog!
Happy Pumpkin Day 👿 💀 🎃

Yes, it seems that this is the day that you were waiting for avatar wise!

Stavamo facendo yoga quella sera e ci siamo persi lo spettacolo accipicchia!!!!
Big hug!

It seems that half of Ticino was taking photos of the sky that evening.

I have never seen such wonderful colors, no more than northern lights. But I want to go to Norway next year to take pictures. What could have caused that is difficult to answer.

1000% agree with you..

If you do go see the northern lights I will really enjoy seeing your pictures!

I will try my best to hold on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59456.51
ETH 2300.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48