Sailing Through Greece Part 2 - Preveza Town

in #photography7 years ago (edited)


IMG_20170608_111533_251.jpg

Our first stop on the journey was right across from Cleopatra Marina to Preveza Town. On the first night we stayed at the harbor across from the town because we had to wait for an engineer to help fix the water maker. The skipper has a reverse osmosis water filter, so we are able to take sea water and turn it into fresh water. After the repairs were done we sailed only about 1 mile over to Preveza.

It was the first time I have ever docked with the back of the boat to the wall and the front facing out with the anchor out. As we got close to the wall I jumped out with a rope and held the boat secure. My big mistake was not learning the bowline knot because the skipper wanted me to tie up using that knot. It was not the end of the world for me because the Australian came to my rescue.

It is nice being docked with your back facing the wall mainly because you are only a few feet away from land. Preveza town is quite nice and it was my first time being in a Greek city. We had quite lovely food at a local Taverna. The next thing we did was stock up on food and the others made sure to get Vodaphone service. I don't have internet all the time just when we anchor or there is wifi that reaches all the way to the boat.

It is nice to be sailing and not have to worry about the real world. It is nice to go exploring Greek cities and islands. I love going to bed near some island when it is completely still and quiet all night. After Preveza we started to head South. The skippers goal is to get from Preveza all the way to Thessaloniki and back in about 4 months. More to come!

Preveza Town
IMG_20170608_103028_051.jpg
Delicious Greek Food , Moussaka, Swordfish, Stuffed Eggplant, Zuchinni
IMG_20170610_105552_295.jpg
The Best Dessert Baklava
IMG_20170610_105509_191.jpg
Some Nice Clouds
IMG_20170608_102857_027.jpg
Lots Of Drinks To Buy
IMG_20170602_220026_569.jpg
Crab & Mussels
DSC09054.JPG
Night Sailboats
DSC09049.JPG
The Moon
DSC09030.JPG

Sort:  

Very nice :)
Baklava is hardly of greek origin, but hey don't we all love it? :)

Oh sorry about that, but it is in like every bakery here! so I just assumed... ill change the description!

Noooo... dont worry at all. Many believe that. When I was younger I thought it originated in Bosnia lol It is believed it has Asyriann origin, I think.
Such a yummy sugar bomb! :)

follow and upvote @ kurufinatarinki!!! nice photo!! i have been there ,I live in Greece!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49