One Year of Photos 12/365 - Self Portrait - Original Work

in #photography7 years ago

Welcome to day 12 of a photo a day for 365 days! Today I am going to share a self portrait.

Sometimes I see something or have an idea but I do not have anyone to model for me. In this case I had just got this mandala blanket, hung it on the wall and was so in love I had to take a photo with it. So I brushed my hair grabbed my tripod and did a shoot! I am not going to lie, doing this feels a bit weird but when I have an idea I get impatient and want to do it now! So I set the timer sat in front if it and started shooting. This is what I got!

IMG_4704.jpg

The room light was low so I had my aperture pretty open at f2.2, that was as open as I could go because if I moved forward or backwards even a little I ended up being blurry. To make sure I was sitting in the right spot I put a pillow where I was suppose to sit, I then focused on the pillow and sat on the pillow that I knew was in focus. It was a lot of trial and error but was fun making it, I also finally got an image with that lovely blanket design in the background! I used my Canon 6D, my 50mm lens, shutter was at 1/1000 and my camera was on a tripod set on a 10 second timer. I edited this image in Lightroom.

Thank you for following along on my year photo journey, and if you just joined thanks for taking the time to read my post! Means so much :) Please comment if you like what you see, and follow if you want to see a pic a day! I will continue to post one piece of original work for one year in hopes to spread fun, inspiration and interaction on Steemit. Here are the links if you would like to check out the past few days:

Day 11: https://steemit.com/photography/@kristylynn/one-year-of-photos-11-365-maybe-i-love-too-much-original-work
Day 10: https://steemit.com/photography/@kristylynn/one-year-of-photos-10-365-she-s-like-the-moon-original-work

Until tomorrow everyone!

xoxo, @kristylynn

Sort:  

Really nice work, I shoot a 6D with a 50mm f/1.2 a lot of the time myself. Do you have your own lightroom presets or do you use something like VSCO?

I use my own. I never bought those. Hahaha I'm stubborn like that I want it to be my filters I make. Do you use them? I do have the phone app tho, it's pretty awesome for iPhone photos :)

Yeah I've created my own preset too. It's not fully exactly the way I want it. I must look at it again. I just love how quick they are to use and the consistency of all your shots then.

That is true! I have seen a lot of youtube tutorials where someone starts with the vsco filter then adjusts and makes their own filters from there, maybe a good start point? What do you think about that?

It's funny you say that because that's exactly what I done, I just didn't want to admit it lol.

hahaha! Thats ok! I say use whatever tools you have available to you. If you like them DO IT. :)

Lovely composition @kristylynn - resteemed as I think this one deserves to be seen. :)

Thanks for the re steem! I just saw this. @timelapse

Congratulations @kristylynn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74