More Creative Photography | Playing With Fairylights

in #photography7 years ago

Be creative with fairylights..


Hello Steemit friends! How are you?

I want to share some new photos with you that I shot this weekend with a friend of mine. We played around with a different kind of lighting, and we had a lot of fun with it.

DSC03866-2.jpg

This is me, looking way too serious..

I have to learn more about using the lighting I have around me in the right way, and be more creative with my photography. So I decided to try out fairylights. I've seen so many do this and get awesome shots, and I wanted to try that for myself.

DSC03859-2.jpg

This is very easy to do. All you need is a camera (you can also use your phone), some kind of tripod (you want your camera to stay still, you can use a chair for example), and fairylights. You can buy some at ebay for just a dollar I think. I've ordered a few in different colors, but I got impatient waiting for them to arrive so I just bought these at the mall.

DSC04021.jpg

This is my friend, Heléna.

This is the easiest thing to do with fairylights. Just put them in your hands and let them do their job. You can also drag them apart, hold them up against your face, wrap them in your hair, etc. Just be creative.

DSC03987.jpg

I do recommend putting up some lights in the background. This will bring out the person in the picture in a much clearer way.

Another thing I did was to wrap some of the lights around my lens and hold it up against my/Heléna's face to make a really nice light-effect.

DSC04008.jpg

She looks so beautiful in this shot. My favourite.

I already liked how they looked on my camera, but putting them in Lightroom took them to another level. If you want a good editing program, I really recommend using Adobe Lightroom.

DSC04125.jpg

Using my glasses made a huge effect on my photos. I absolutely love how the lights are reflecting in them. If you normally don't wear glasses, just buy a pair of cheap ones on Ebay. Maybe some retro ones. I've already ordered a few, and I'm waiting for them to arrive.

DSC04142.jpg

Still, way too serious..

And that's it. I hope you liked these few tips on being a little bit more creative with lighting. Let me know what you think or if you're going to try this. I would love to see your photography! And as always, all feedback is very much appreciated!

Have a nice day Steemians!

Kristin.

Sort:  

I've stayed up at night for hours playing with lights and taking shots. I've come up with some crazy stuff. I end up deleting some because they are seriously weird haha. I love these shots though, you really captured that mysterious element in your photos.

Yeah, it is so much fun playing with different lighting. Haha yeah it can get weird! Thank you so much, @taysteytey! I really appreciate it :)

Lights like this are fun to play with, but what I really liked here was how you used them in both the foreground and background to create depth in the image. The lighting on those first two especially is awesome!

P.S. it's okay to smile. ;)

Yeah, that was the thought behind it :) I had a lot of fun! Thank you so much, @derekkind. I really appreciate it. And yes, I'll smile more! :)

Hehe, excellent! :)

Those are really cool photos!

Thank you so much, @drewley! :)

Really liked the second image. The lighting and the subject gives the picture an intriguing mood.

I doubt if a phone camera would give similar results, since those pictures are generally flat. Maybe the new iPhone could get this effect.

The glasses might reflect the lights but it hides the sparkle in the eye.

Keep experimenting and sharing!

Thank you su much, @twowheeledmonkey! :) A phone that can shoot in raw format where you can choose to use the "pro-settings" may be able to take a similar picture, but not every phone has that though. And you are right about the sparkle in the eyes being hidden behind the glasses. Maybe larger glasses and a more up-close picture would bring out both, the sparkle in the eyes and the glasses. I might try that. Thank you for your kind and really good comment! Take care :)

Light are sweet... .

Just did a 1 minute drawing of it. Posting in a few mins :)

This is a first! A really cool surprise! I love that you chose my photo, and I'm definitely saving this! Thank you, @mrblinddraw!

Love this idea! Super cute + cool! ♡

Thank you so much, @amatchgirl! :) I had a lot of fun doing it! :)

It looks super fun @kristinbr! I might have to try this too(for IG lol).. btw, the ones with your glasses on are my fav!! ♡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35