From The Busy Highway To The Calming Woods | Norway

in #photography6 years ago

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow..

Hello Steemians! Have you been enjoying your weekend? I sure have. I've been relaxing and doing absolutely nothing, and everything.

My mom and I went for a hike yesterday. I wanted to show my mom a place she'd never been before. We had to get on the highway, and drive for a little while before we drove of in to the woods. It had been snowing, so it was much like a winter wonderland.

DSC04784.jpg

It's a weird, but a good feeling to go from driving on the busy highway to entering these calm woods. That is something I love about hiking. Escaping from our busy lives, and almost entering a new world.

DSC04803.jpg

I love hiking alone, I get to really focus on my photography and use as much time as I need. I can use 30 minutes, or more to get just one shot. Especially if it's by the ocean, a river, or a waterfall.

DSC04795.jpg

This is my mom and my dog, Coffee

But I also love hiking with other people. Especially with my mom and my dog. We can talk and walk for hours. But doing photography while hiking with others who may be freezing, can be a little difficult. So I had to be quick, and I think I got a few good shots.

DSC04825.jpg

After walking for a little while, we came to a frozen waterfall. It was very hard to get a picture of it since there wasn't any place to stand to get a good shot. But I loved the ocean-view I got.

IMG_20180303_154651.jpg

The first time I went hiking in this place was with my boyfriend's granddad, and he told me they used to drive cars over this bridge.. that would be completely crazy today.

IMG_20180303_154831.jpg

Our hiking-trail ended up by the ocean, on a beach with very flat rocks. There are barely any sand beaches on my island. I think we might only have one, maybe two. The rest contains different kinds of rocks. I think it's really cool though.

IMG_20180303_154851.jpg

IMG_20180303_155026.jpg

The weather was so gray that day, but that is very normal here in the west-coast of Norway. I liked that it was snowing and not raining though. The snow lights up the gray weather a lot, and makes dark days a lot better.

IMG_20180303_155637.jpg

That house on the top of that hill is very untypical architecture here on my island. It's actually from Trøndelag, which is in the northern part of Norway. I think it's being used as a cabin today, and I think it's so beautiful.

IMG_20180303_160736.jpg

It was a very beautiful walk, and we had a really nice time. I think I'll drag my mom with me on a hike tomorrow as well.

I hope you liked my post and photography. And as always, all feedback is very much appreciated!

Have a good week!

Kristin.

Sort:  

I like your photos. Try to use less clarity and less blacks for the selfie. It gives your face the ghost effect :)

Thank you so much! I'll try that, thanks for the tip! :)

Hi there! Your hiking trail seems so beautiful. I am like you when I am running, when I am running alone, I feel more calm.

Hi! Yes, it really is beautiful! :) It's the best feeling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61397.32
ETH 3382.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48