An Old Flour Mill Driven By a Beautiful Waterfall | Hiking In Norway

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I love shooting long exposure!

Hello Steemit friends! Did you have a nice weekend? I sure did. I haven't done much actually. Yesterday I had a friend over, and we shot some beautiful photos with fairy lights. I'll show them to you later.

DSC04225.jpg

I love how those large logs lies after falling down the waterfall.

My mom and I went for a hike today, and we decided to visit an old flour mill. This mill was driven by a beautiful waterfall, which had a lot of water in it today. I think some of the snow on the mountains are starting to melt.

DSC04206.jpg

This was pretty much our terrain the whole hike. I've started to like snow, but not this kind. It's so wet and hard to walk in. Anyway, we had a lot of fun. I love hiking with my mom. Just talk, and take pictures.

DSC04207.jpg

It's been many years since I went for a hike here. We used to walk a lot here when I was a kid. With my class and with my family. It's nice at this time of the year, but a lot more beautiful during the summer. Everything is much more greener and sunny.. I remember there being a lot of large trees here, so it was disappointing to see them all chopped down.

DSC04226.jpg

This mill is over 300 years old, and the only one on my island that is still standing in its original place. Well maintained, but not working. It's a flour mill, and there's a legend saying that no mill made better flour than this one for baking.

DSC04227.jpg

This is where the water was running through to get the mill going. And as you can see, it's a bit broken now, and it's been like this for many years.

DSC04261.jpg

DSC04266.jpg

The grain fell down into this hole, and were made into flour. As a kid I found this part super boring, but today I find it a bit more interesting. Imagine having to make your own flour like this. We're lucky we can go to the store and buy flour in packages when we need it. Or even when we don't need it.

DSC04271.jpg

Inside the mill there's a visitors-book where you write your name and the date when you came to visit, and maybe a little note. It's always been like that. I wonder how many books there are. Books like this one is very normal here in Norway when you're out hiking. We have a few up in the mountains as well. I think it's a good idea. Is this normal where you come from?

DSC04281.jpg

It's not a very big mill. Quite small actually. I think it's very cute.

DSC04283.jpg

Outside we found an old grindstone made into a table. I think the people who's in charge of this place have done a good job of making it a nice place to start a fire and end your hike here. We didn't start a fire though. After taking some photos, we sat for a while, and walked back.

DSC04295.jpg

It was a very good hike, and I love spending time with my mom this way.

I hope you liked my post and photography. And as always, all feedback is very much appreciated!

Have a nice day, Steemians!

Kristin.

Sort:  

beautiful

Amazing <3 follow and upvote for you ;)

Thank you so much, @amazing-place! :) I really appreciate it. Following back :)

Loved how put in your weekend in this blog it's like joining you and your mom.

Hope we get to spend time like this with my mom. Working from a different province so I'm away from home most of the time.

I'm glad you liked it, @maddie30! :) Thank you for your sweet comment, and I hope you get to see your mom soon! Take care :)

Beautiful pics! So interesting to see how people used to make things that we take for granted these days!

Thank you so much, @buttpacker! Yeah, that is so true. I love visiting old places like this :)

Great pictures !

Thank you so much, @jeyjey17! :)

Wow..thats amazing site view...i remember when i visited a waterfall in my country...i felll and broke my arms..lol...but its alwways a beautiful scenerio..and a thing to celebrae God...i started folloowing you @kristin

Thank you so much, @meekcosmas! Oh no! I hope you're doing better now. Thanks for the comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35