Urban Blackberries

in #photography6 years ago

004910.jpg

Usually when I think of gardening and farms, I imagine endless fields filled with crops or little gardens people have in their backyards, it almost never crosses my mind that small gardens or orchards can be hidden in the middle of urban areas, but a gem like that exists and it's downtown Detroit.

The place is called Lafayatte Greens: An Urban Garden and it is open to public during its business hours. I can't explain how amazing it feels to be able to make a turn and find yourself surrounded by all kinds of fragrant flowers, fresh produce such as fruits, berries and some veggies right in the middle of busy streets. It almost feels like being a kid wanting to explore and check out everything there is, smell the plants, figure out their names, try some berries. All in all it's pure fun!

Here is the map of the garden, if you're curious to see what the layout is like.

garden.JPG


I wish that I took more photos, I probably should next time I head that way, but it was getting dark and I was only equipped with my phone.
The place rules hard and I think I'm going to make a separate post about it for all of you who's interested! The garden is great and it has so much to offer!

Map source: http://www.kw-la.com.


Sort:  

thanks for sharing about this place! I have a little orchard and I planted many flowers and aromatic herbs, they are not only beautiful and pleasant, they also help the growth of the vegetables and scare away pests. good post!

Yeah, this is a pretty cool spot to check out, mostly because it is rare to encounter something like that in urban areas.

Sure seems like a nice place by the way !

It definitely is! I wanna go back!

I forgot, beautiful image!

Thank you :)

Great garden and landscape concept, I love black berries.

Oh yeah, it is pretty cool! Blackberries are great!

I would definitely be interested in seeing more in your next post, it looks incredible. It will inspire me as well, because we are preparing our vegie patches for spring, which isn't far of now. Your photo of the blackberries looks beautiful.

Awesome! I plan on going back there sometime, not sure when exactly though, might be a few weeks haha. The garden is great, I wanna harvest it all, but can't since I didn't plant anything hahaha

Thank you!

Интересный сад:)

Hello, beautiful photo, the land gives us many reasons to believe in it, those fruits look very appetizing .. Go for my profile, yes? .. Thanks!

aaa блэкберри - ежевика?
а черная смородина тогда как?)
я как-то в посте упомянула блэкберии и фотку смородины, а мне все пишут, мол шо за ягода, это не та:))

Хахаха! черная смородина - black currant :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28