Tomato Soup à la Salmorejo

in #photography6 years ago

619A8897.jpg

So, tomato soups . . .

It is sort of crazy to think about it, but I have never had any tomato soups just until now. For some reason they aren't very common in Eastern Europe where I'm from, so while browsing the internet the other day and accidentally stumbling upon a Salmorejo recipe, I was like hmm, that would be cool to try, especially all of the ingredients sounded so good to me, all the things I enjoy eating! But it was the smoked fish on top that sealed the deal of course!

Since the most fun part of cooking for me is experimenting with food I decided to not blindly follow the first Salmorejo recipe out there and decided to only use whatever I had on hand or felt like throwing in :).

619A8883.jpg
619A8865.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 tablespoons olive oil;
  • 1 lb crushed tomatoes with basil;
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice;
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar;
  • salt and pepper to taste;
  • 2 slices pretzel bread;
  • 1 sweet mini pepper (roasted);
  • 4 cloves of garlic.

Directions:

Place all of the ingredients into your blender or food processor and pulse at a high speed. This is it literally it. Extremely easy and by very far the quickest meal I have ever cooked, other than smoothies haha.

Toppings:

As far as toppings you go you can use about anything to really make this soup your own. It can be a chopped boiled egg, garlic bread or prosciutto. I used the following:

  • extra virgin olive oil;
  • 2 slices pretzel bread;
  • roasted sunflower seeds;
  • fresh parsley;
  • smoked sardines (canned).

619A8890.jpg
619A8888.jpg

Highly recommend this recipe to anyone who is into cold soups, tomatoes and smoked fish. Perhaps next time I will make sure to cook some garlic bread to go with it, I feel like it would make it so much more flavorful! Other than it is pretty much perfect, oh yeah, if you love spicy food, adding a little bit of hot sauce would be a good idea as well!

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF - 50mm - F/1.8 lens.


Sort:  

This post has received a 27.27 % upvote from @kath1 thanks to: @mariam.kerromi.

Great post. Thank you

Hi there, i'm probably a bit slow but i've just realised that you are Crypto-Cats mum and Matt-a their dad, am I right? The tomato soup gave it away. Anyway I am glad I looked at your blog because I really like your content, delicious recipes, photagraphy and the odd cat story or photo and I am very happy. Regards @white.tiger

Thank you! Happy to know you're into it :).

Yup! I used to post my cat photographs on my account last year and then decided to make a separate blog for them since I feel like they have a lot of personality haha.
Thanks for stopping by and hope you have an awesome weekend ahead!

They definitly have a lot of personality, I love their posts.

The combination of tomatoes with boiled eggs and fish is very tasty!

I bet! I'll probably use boiled eggs next time I make it :)

Looks tasty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55