Loaded Potato Skins

in #photography6 years ago

619A8855.jpg
619A8856.jpg

This simple yet delicious dish is probably one of my favorite things to get as far as appetizers go. Sadly, no restaurant can make these babies as good as you do at your own house. I get that, appetizers shouldn't take a long time to come out and they gotta have food ready on hand. Unfortunately, I haven't worked in food industry to have an idea of what really is going on behind the scenes. Anyways, here's my humble attempt to make loaded potato skins!

Ingredients:

  • 2 russet potatoes;
  • 1 small chicken breast;
  • canned jalapenos;
  • sour cream;
  • fresh parsley;
  • 2 cloves of garlic;
  • cheddar cheese;
  • cooking oil;
  • garlic powder;
  • salt and pepper;
  • ground paprika.

619A8847.jpg
619A8850.jpg

Directions:

Wash and half the potatoes, rub the spices in, drizzle some olive oil and bake at 400 F until done. In the meantime, cube the chicken breast and fry it up the way you usually would. Even though loaded potatoes are awesome with bacon, chicken is a good alternative for when you're trying to avoid red meat :).
When the potatoes are cooked, scoop some out of them, making a small well in the middle and fill with cooked chicken breast, cheddar cheese and canned jalapenos. Broil for about 5-7 minutes. Serve with sour cream on top, garnish with chopped parsley with garlic. Enjoy!

619A8857.jpg

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF - 50mm - F/1.8 lens.


Sort:  

Looks good. I think potatoes are way better with the skin than without.

Thanks!

I think it depends on how thick the skin is, I don't mind eating red skin potatoes with skin on or young potatoes, but other than that I prefer to peel it off haha. Matt likes the skin too hahaha

wow great post @katturinn you are the best cooker and delicious recipe thanks the more info.big yes for you

you'r the best cooker @kotturinn am i correct? congratulion my friend!

Yes, of course :D

I am in love with your cooking my dear. Looks delicious and I have not had them since I was in the states more than 12 years ago. Thanks for bringing back some great memories. ANd also the photography looks great too. :)

Thanks a lot :)

Well, you should make some potato skins and re-live the American memories once again, maybe?!

I've only made them like 2 times at home, usually I would just get them while eating out, but I think I will be making potato skins at home more often, it makes a big difference haha

Yes. I agree. Unfortunately the ingredients I get in Thailand always makes things taste different. I am still trying to make pasts taste the way I am used to. Some say that it is the water. Not sure though. There are some American restaurants and perhaps I will see if they have and potato skins American Style. I will let you know. In the meantime I am following. great job my dear.

That is interesting. There are some Eastern European meals that I make here and most of them taste just the same, but yeah of course I see why there would be a slight difference the way food tastes in Thailand. I think as long as you keep the ingredients simple and minimal it should work out haha

Thank you :)

Yes, I try. It is often a real challenge to get the exact spices, fruits or vegetables. They may have the same name but the taste is slightly different. A good example is the lemon. Here in Thailand, they actually call a lime a lemon. Same family of fruit, but the taste if a bit different. So when you cook with it or even add it to drinks, the flavor is slightly different. I personally like limes better, but when you make lemonade not exactly the same. Thanks :) By the way, they do have "western" lemons here in some supermarkets, but they are really expensive.

Oh gotcha! I like to use fresh limes in cooking a lot too, there's a cheat to lime and lemon is that you can buy their juice, it may cost more, but it lasts a long time and you can have it on hand just whenever you need it. Although I wouldn't recommend it for making drinks, but it works for cooking just fine!

Thanks for the cooking tip. Never done that before. I will definitely try it.

I love this, I love baked potatoes or fried or pure, they are delicious and combine with everything you can think of, this looks very good it made my mouth water and you are right many meals or everything is always good at home

Very true! Potatoes are so good! Mashed ones go so well with baked salmon or a steak. I should probably make some instead of talking about it hahaha

Thanks!

Hahaha you're right the bad thing is that I'm at work I can not cook here I should wait to get home and eat something, but this recipe I loved

Awesome is your recipe hahaha I love besides those good pictures I hope to learn how to do it

Haha thanks a lot again! I am sure you will be able to take all kinds of pictures soon!

Take some of a food festival that I had 1 week ago publish it on my blog can you go in and see the pictures and tell me how it went?

Yum! These look delicious! We love loaded potato skins. I like the addition of the jalapenos.

Thank you! Yeah, jalapenos add this extra spice I love a lot haha

@kotturinn you truely have some very scrumptious meals i would love to devour.lol.All my favourite ingredients in the bakes potatoe skins filled with lovelyiness.Chicken, sour cream, garlic.Just making my belly rumble looking at your pics.Thanks for your lovely appetiser.Check out my post for your potential main.lol😉😂😂😂😂

Thanks for stopping by! I will make sure to check out your recipes as well :)

I'm getting fat bellies because of too much eating but if this is the dish served in my table, I will still no doubt eat it because it looks really delicious!

Haha! Thanks! I hope someone serves this to you and you don't even get fat :D

damn this looks amazing :D

look so delicious, and photos are very good, thanks for share kotturinn! Also if you like aerial cinematic photos and videos, follow my blog, it would be honor to me! :)

Thanks for stopping by, I will check out your photos!

Yum, the jalapenos would be fantastic with this dish, I add them to a lot of meals I make at home. I love the look of these loaded potato skins, will try making them.

Absolutely! Jalapenos do make a big difference if you like spicy food! I love them in this dish!

Thanks :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44