Blood Orange Upside-down Cake

in #photography6 years ago

619A9079.jpg
619A9067.jpg

First attempt at making Blood Orange Upside-down Cake and I was pleased the way it turned out. To be completely honest with you guys I didn't not expect it to be this tasty, so I highly recommend it as a casual cake to anyone who's into citrus and pretty colors.
The recipe belongs to Linda Lomelino, one of my biggest inspirations when it comes to food photography, so feel free to check out her blog online for yummy food and beautiful photographs at Call Me Cupcake.

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter;
  • 50 ml Greek yogurt;
  • 1-2 blood oranges;
  • 2 eggs;
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar;
  • 1/2 tea spoon vanilla extract;
  • 3/4 cup + 1 1/2 tb. spoon flour;
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder;
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt;
  • zest from 1 blood orange.

619A9046.jpg
619A9054.jpg

Directions:

Line your springform pan with parchment paper or grease it with butter, sprinkle a little bit of sugar at the bottom. Then wash and thinly slice a blood orange and layer the springform pan.
Melt the butter and mix it with Greek yogurt, set aside. Beat the eggs, sugar and vanilla extract until the mixture lightens up in color, sift in flour, add in baking powder, salt and the butter-yogurt mixture, stir until smooth, then add in orange zest.
Pour the batter into the springform pan and even the top with a spatula. Bake at 350 F for about 30 minutes or until the top gets golden brown.
Let the cake cool and serve with your favorite ice cream or coffee.

619A9069.jpg
619A9076.jpg
619A9082.jpg

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF - 50mm - F/1.8 lens.


Sort:  

The pictures you took are top notch, simply amazing pictures.

Why thank you.

you know why, because you put effort into it and I can see
it-.....

Well, I do try to make sure my photos look nice :).

Aw, man. This looks delicious, lol. Too bad I'll never be able to get my fiancee to make this since she's allergic to blood oranges :(

Thank you!

Is she allergic to them as in she cannot be exposed to them or she just can't eat them? Because you may still get lucky :D

She gets hives on her hands from touching them, and when she eats them her throat feels kind of tight and she gets hives on her tongue, lol. So, I'm pretty sure I won't be having this anytime soon.

She can use gloves when cutting them and she doesn't have to eat the cake, see how easy!!!
Or you can make it yourself, it's super simple! I'm sorry about her allergy though, these oranges are super delicious, now that I've tried them I don't want to have anything to do with the regular ones haha

She barely has time to cook more than twice a week, so I'd probably have to do it myself since she can't eat it. And, I'm sure I would fuck it up because I'm a disaster artist when it comes to cooking, haha. I might try to make a cupcake or something like this just so I can try it.

Also, mandarin oranges are probably my favorite. I'm not even a huge fan of normal ones, but I can eat mandarin's all god damn day, lol.

I love mandarins as well! And honey tangerines those are delicious. Mandarins are huge where I'm from especially around New Year. When it comes to regular oranges I'm not a big fan either, I like them in cocktails though haha blood oranges is where it's at, they taste so good!
I don't recommend making just one cupcake, you'll probably spend more time figuring out how much of an egg you'd need for it, it may look like a big cake, but it really isn't, you can also use regular oranges to make it.

Ah, I've no idea why I typed out one cupcake. I was thinking of using a small muffin pan we have and just making 4 of them so it's a small enough amount for me to eat over a few days without going to waste. I thought some orange zest frosting would go good with them as well :D Though I'm not sure if they'd count as cupcakes if they're the size of muffins...

Ah gotcha! I am not sure what's the difference between cupcakes and muffins, I think the icing on top is what turns muffins into cupcakes haha
Either way, hope you like them if you end up baking them!

Mmm ... yummy ... it looks good .. thanks for sharing the recipe, curious about the taste, I have to try it later .. but in my place it seems there is no blood orange. Maybe it can be replaced with ordinary oranges.

Thanks for showing interest in my post!
Blood oranges certainly can be replaced with regular ones, hope you enjoy the cake whenever you make it :)

It looks stunning! Very cool upperside and probably the taste should be good as well then

Thanks a lot, Karin!
It was surprisingly quite tasty, I highly recommend! :)

Что за кровавые апельсины o_O

Красный апельсин, также кровавый апельсин (лат. Citrus sinensis) — разновидность апельсина кроваво-красного цвета. Такой цвет ему придаёт наличие антоцианов — пигментов, довольно часто встречающихся в цветах и фруктах, но несвойственных цитрусовым. Степень окрашивания также зависит от температуры, освещения и сорта. Плод, как правило, меньше апельсина, имеет ребристую поверхность и почти не содержит косточек. Кровавый апельсин является естественной мутацией обычного апельсина, который в свою очередь является гибридом помело и мандарина.

Такие дела :)

Nice photogray food

Wow! This is a masterpiece! Very nice, appetizing and probably fragrant)). Talent!

Thank you @inna-yatsuk! It was a tasty one :)

This cake looks really pretty.

Thanks @white.tiger, it tasted pretty good as well, I highly recommend!

Another amazing recipe!!! I bet it tastes like heaven!!!! I had some tea before and this....ohh god....this was the missing part ;x I knew that something was missing!

Don't know about tea, but it tasted quite delicious with a cup of coffee, maybe I should make it again?

Thank you :)

haha:D I would definitely have it without coffee, tea or anything else. Just a slice and I'm happy:d

You must love cakes :D

Thanks so much for the recipe...I am so much in love with cake.....What a lovely cake.Great work

Glad to know ya liked it, thank you :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44