My trip to Gozo, Malta

in #photography8 years ago

I visited Malta back in June 2007. Malta is an archipelago of smaller islands that have been coveted by many nations throughout history, from the the Phoenicians and the Romans, up to the Knights of St. John, the French and the British. That's why it is steeped in history, as well as being blessed by sun and nature.

I took an afternoon flight to the Malta International Airport, and by the time I got to my hotel it was late at night, so I unpacked and went to bed. The next morning I opened my balcony door to a wonderful view outside.

View from my hotel room

I was staying at the St Paul's Bay area, named after St Paul the Apostle. It is believed that St Paul, together with Luke the Evangelist, were washed up on the St. Paul's Islands, which are situated near St Paul's Bay, after their ship was wrecked on the islands.

St Paul's Bay is full of hotels, restaurants, bars, etc. It also has a very nice seaside promenade that you can walk along. Although it can be very convenient with all amenities on your doorstep, there are other places with more "local" character, in my (humble) opinion.

St Paul's bay from http://www.easyjet.com

So I decided to roam the island, as I normally do. I arranged to go on guided tours to places like Gozo, Valetta and Marsaxlokk.

Gozo is one of the islands that constitute the maltese archipelago. Gozo, among other things, has Ġgantija, the earliest of the Megalithic Temples of Malta (circa 3600–2500 BC). That would be my first destination. We therefore took the ferry to Gozo.

On our way to Gozo

We arrived at the Mgarr Harbour of Gozo, and made our ascend towards Ġgantija. The Ġgantija temples were listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1980.

Trilithon Altar

South Temple Right Outer Apse

Pictures from Ġgantija

As we were on a vantage point, we could see across the island, towards Madonna Ta' Pinu (The Basilica of the National Shrine of the Blessed Virgin of Ta' Pinu), a spectacular sight.

View of Madonna Ta' Pinu

After Ġgantija, we went to a small fishing village for refreshments.

Fishing village in Gozo

The limestone structure of the Maltese Islands is ideal for cave formation by wind or water. That's why Malta has so many spectacular caves, like the Azure Window, our next destination.

Azure Window, Gozo

Limestone caves in Gozo

The limestone quarries of Malta on the other hand provide the characteristic yellow bricks out of which most buildings are made on the island, especially the old ones. And they look splendid in the sun.

Beautiful yellow-brick buildings of Gozo

I hope you liked my pictures. Next post about Malta will show some more spectacular caves, and the famous Popeye Village. So stay tuned!

Sort:  

So much beauty thanks for this post @koskl !

thank you! i am glad you like them!

congratulations beautiful photographs

thank you my friend!

Ohh man these are some great images, makes me miss home.

Now that is THE compliment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43