The unseen Kommienezuspadt wedding photography portfolio!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemit! It’s a gross day in Minneapolis. Hot and muggy. @vermillionfox @millsguthrie and I are staying huddled around the air conditioner, so it’s a “work at home” day. 

I’m sharing a rarely seen side of my photography on Steemit here today. Not at all ashamed of the work; on the contrary, I’m extremely proud of these images. They represent and capture the most meaningful moments in the lives of my clients and it’s a privilege to be the one to do it. This is a glimpse in to my wedding photography over the last ten years.

The reason this work isn’t seen often is because I don’t want to tempt fate or myself to turn this in to a career. There are few directions you can go as a photographer that you’ll make more money than shooting weddings. It is, however, an extremely high stress job that demands more than I’m willing to give. That said, the clients I take on for wedding photography are typically close friends which minimizes the likeliness of groom and bridezillas […minimizes, but by no means eliminates, as I’ve found out the hard way].

My mentor was Jim Gavenus. A documentary photographer from Scranton, PA. Truth be told, I didn’t have a lot of respect for photography as medium prior to meeting Jim. I was an illustrator and that was my interpretation of “real art”. Jim changed my mind on that naive opinion as I saw more and more of his work in Haiti and The Deep South. He was my basic photography course instructor but we became good friends. 

While I was going through my earliest images [film], I remember Jim asking what I wanted to shoot. At the time, I think I said “Portraits”. He told me if that’s what I wanted to shoot, I should omit anything in my portfolio that wasn’t portraits, or at the very least, have separate portfolios. He said “You can have the most beautiful wedding photo the world has ever seen. Too exceptional to cut from your body of work, but, if you don’t want to shooting weddings as a career, you should take it out. I can guarantee that photo will always be the one that gets you hired, and before you know it, you’re a wedding photographer.”. That did hit home with me and I can thank that conversation for keeping my career compass pointed towards fashion and editorial fashion photography, which I’m poorer for, but much happier.

I do take weddings seriously when I am hired for one. I also think I’m good at them. Whatever it that makes me good at capturing the nuanced emotions and feelings of the models I shoot, I think I’m also able to do the same in the moment during weddings. The pressure is on an entirely different level. With my models, I can direct, pose and re-pose them as many times as I need. At a wedding, for much of the day, you have one chance. Especially the kiss! I’ve had anxiety dreams about missing that shot, which thankfully, I haven’t yet.

So, have a look in to some of the wedding photography most of the internet hasn’t seen. There are even a few big features I’ve had in major wedding publications such as Inside Weddings and Offbeat Bride! As I said, I don’t take on weddings often, but under the circumstances, I may be persuaded to accept one or two paid in STEEM :)

I post daily. Follow me at @kommienezuspadt for more photography, art illustration and thoughts on the world. Have a great day!

Sort:  

Well, as a professional wedding photographer I can say that you're pretty damn good at it! Although I wouldn't expect any less from the likes of yourself. You're totally right too, it's a crap ton of work, but those who love it really love it :)

Thanks @dexter-k! Yeah, I have friends that make $300K a year shooting weddings but most of them hate their jobs and hate life, lol.

Niiice! Amazing photos here, the detail in your edits are impeccable 👍👍 thank you for sharing & congratulations on the wedding!

Thank you @vizualsamuri! I love having a community like Steemit to share this work.

After seeing this post, dropping an insta follow!! Incredible pictures and look forward to seeing some of your future posts :)

Brilliant photos, I always enjoy your posts. Keep up the good work!

Thanks so much @vitkolesnik! That means a lot. I love knowing that the work is reaching people that enjoy it.

I would marry again if I could get you to do a wedding photoshoot like that!!! LOL!
Amazing work @kommienezuspadt. You got a new follower.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $32.49 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 10 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

These are some very stunning wedding photographs - they were so beautiful to look at! You definitely have a talent for taking wedding shots, and it was so great of you to share the magic of these happy days with the Steemit community! How many weddings would you say that you have been the photographer for so far? Followed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68123.51
ETH 3488.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72