Shooting w/ Burlesque Hall Of Fame icon, Roxi D'Lite!

Aside from the obvious financial perks of hitting some semblance of a prosperous photography career, it’s nice to have the opportunities to work with models, actresses and celebrities that would typically be inaccessible otherwise. I’m fortunate to have worked with masters of the industry over the last five years. One of those being the bad girl of burlesque, Roxi D’Lite!

Miss Exotic World. Voted #1 Burlesque Figure in the world. World Champion of Exotic Dance and Entertainer Of The Year. The accolades for Roxi D’Lite seem to be endless, and it was around 2014, as my own career was gaining momentum, that I decided “Sonuvabitch! I have to work with her one day!”.

Around that same time, I became friends with @vintagevandalizm as Vegas became a more regular part of my west coast photography tours. Our shoots together stirred a lot of attention, which gave me access entertainers like Claire Sinclair, headliner of “Pinup”, the burlesque show at the Stratosphere. From there, I somehow got on Roxi’s radar and through a few back and forth exchanges on Instagram, I was able to make time to shoot with her during this part Spring’s Viva Las Vegas event.

Beyond Roxi’s beauty and success, you’ll immediately notice her exquisite taste in curating the photographers she works with. Practically every photo that exists of her is flawless, and here’s what tips her off the scale of amazing, in to exceptional! She is her own photographer! When my friend Derek told me that, I couldn’t believe it. I was immediately intimidated, as my style is very unconventional. Anyone that knows their way around the art of photography has to have a lot of trust in me, because at face value, I look like a student stumbling through the first semester of Basic 1 Photography.

Roxi did have that trust, and our first shoot was at our mutual friend Ralph’s notorious Speakeasy in Paradise Palms, NV. We made some incredible photos together, and she was an absolute delight […no pun intended] to work with. One of these powerhouse talents that came hair and make-up ready, brought an extensive selection of high end wardrobe and lingerie, and absolutely killed it in front of the camera. As an artist, you can’t ask for more than to work with someone of her caliber. 

Her fans received our photos well, and I was in disbelief to see some images getting over 12,000 on her Facebook page […I’ve had photos do close to that on Instagram, but Facebook, in many ways in an uncrackable ecosystem to reach large audiences….without paying for it]. I’d send her edits, and she’d give me direction on slight changes. I respect her so much as an artist, it really did feel like a genuine collaboration.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

A few months later, Roxi headlines the Minnesota Burlesque Festival in my home city of Minneapolis! Doing two shows a night for four nights, I don’t know how she did it, but we managed to make time to shoot twice! Once with my dear friend, Elektra Cute, who you can see in this previously unpublished editorial I shared here on Steemit a few weeks ago. Some of these photos, I’m still getting to, but will surely be posted on my blog once they’re finished.

Thanks for reading! You can follow Roxi D’Lite on Instagram @roxi_dlite. I’m trying to wear her down to join Steemit. Last time I drove her to the theater in downtown Minneapolis, I explained the platform to her. She’d be a perfect fit within the community.

Follow my blog if you aren’t already. I post almost daily. @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Excellent photos. Fantastic job on the lighting.

Nice work.

Great work,thankyou

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00