New work, shooting w/ Erica in Los Angeles!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hey, Steemit! It’s been another snowy night in Minneapolis. We’ve been trapped indoors the entire day due to heavy ice, sleet and now the real snow is beginning. I have a routine when I’m not traveling and being at @caffetto, working and playing Magic is all I want to be doing right now. It was, however, nice to spend the day with the family. A rare nap, Adventure Time and pizza delivery so we didn’t have to go out.

Earlier in the day, I did manage to get some work done. After a call with @wcpublishing just to catch up on everything with the completion of Dark Pinup […and the advertising to come for the big party at The Artisan Hotel in Las Vegas April 19th], I was able to access what edits I need to get to first. Which clients have been patiently waiting […the longest] for photos. I hate being this far behind, but even with the last two months of working on the book as my main priority, we still were just barely able to get it to the printer in time for copies to be sold at Viva Las Vegas. 

I started with photos from Erica; a client I’d worked with last month during our family vacation […my workcation], throughout LA, Palm Springs and Las Vegas. Erica was one of my last shoots in LA before leaving eastward for Palm Springs. She’d contacted me shortly before I left for the trip and I was able to fit her in just before check out at Sunny Gables in La Cañada.

Erica didn’t have much modeling experience, but because my shoots tend to be so relaxed, without the presence of lighting or set equipment, first time models usually don’t have any difficulty. Erica took great direction and I’ve shot at the Sunny Gables mansion so many times, I know the rooms and lighting like the back of my hand. 

She brought a variety of wardrobe. An gold vintage gown and a collection of vintage inspired lingerie. Erica and I made use of the many spaces and nooks in the giant estate. We even managed to take photos outside just before the sun was directly overhead. The last look was a the quintessential dark pinup esthetic I’ve become know for. Available, incandescent, moody shots lit only with a small desk lamp. We managed to wrap the shoot within 90 minutes, check out and get on the road to see our friends in Palm Springs. 

Thanks for reading. I post daily. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Very classical and artistic photography, giving vintage feelings.

this post very nice..and great photography...i appreciate your contest..carry on my friend!!!!!!!!!!

This is an art to show your vision, sharing how deep you see the cats and their natural laziness which makes me smile? thanks

Wow. It's amazing. Thanks for sharing with us this valuable content

Incredible shots as always dude. Erica did a great job too. You'd certainly never tell she didn't have much experience from these shots!

She did a great job. I think the fact that I don't use lighting on my shoots does help first time models. I also don't go in to my shoots with an idea of expectation of what I'm hoping to get. I always just let it happens, and I think it takes a lot of stress off of me and the model [...especially clients that aren't professional models]. I do direct a lot, too.

Beautiful photos and great lighting! Thanks for sharing!

Ilustrasi dan cerita yang menarik saya menyukai

nice very nice thank you.

oh, i so loved the colors of the picture<3 They are quite soothing and giving it a intimidating touch to the pictures.
Though you said she is new to modelling, but one can't see so in these photographs. Also ,she got an amazing tattoo on her arm :D

Wow great shots and fantastic use of lighting. You are a really good photographer. How could you get these shots with no artificial lighting?

Thanks very much @thaicryptokitty! I've spent the last 20 years refining this technique. It's called diegetic lighting, meaning you only shoot with the light you have available. A friend of mine got me in to photography and he's a documentary photographer. I learned from him and he never used lighting for anything. I naturally gravitated towards portraits and fashion.

I see. Well I am a just starting out photographer and I took a class on lighting and I can tell you what you are doing looks fantastic. Keep up the great work and I look forward to more shots from you. Chat soon and thank you.

Can you tell us more about Viva Las Vegas. I googled it and came up with a rock a billy event with the Stray Cats. Same one?

Yeah, @gringalicious! It's the biggest vintage/pinup/rockabilly event in the world. Thousands of people come from all over. It really is a spectacle, and a photographer, it's a dream come true. Everyone has incredible style, one of a kind vintage clothes. It's like a time warp in to the 50's.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78