Making memories shooting at The Madonna Inn w/ Rosie Riott!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemit! We’ve all pass through HF19 and many of us are significantly richer for it! It’s going to be interesting to see the impact this will have on the community. All I know is my modest dolphin vote now carries $10 with a 100% upvote and it makes me feel like a big dick throwing around that kind influence. All those vests are paying off! I know the entire site is going to be out of hand with HF19 posts, insights and analysts so I’ll leave it all to those here smarter than me. I’ll do what I do best.

For years I’ve wanted to shoot at The Madonna Inn. This legendary, eclectic hotel in San Luis Obispo. When I booked my first trip to LA I made arrangements for several big shoots. One of those shoots involved a drive up the California coast to SLO to shoot a prominent hot rod model at The Madonna Inn. I made a big investment and booked a $200 room only to have the model cancel a day prior. I called the hotel and explained to them the circumstances, and fortunately, they were able to defer my reservation to a later date. I had to pick the date on the phone at that moment, and randomly chose April 7th of the following year. At that point, any later date was better than losing my money.

A year later, I planned a trip through Las Vegas and LA and ended up back in SLO. I’d been talking with a talented alt model in Sacramento named Rosie Riott. Suicide Girls vibe but pursuing her own goals and a total sweetheart. We’d exchanged comments on Instagram and as it drew closer to the trip, she seemed like the perfect fit to make use of the beautiful Madonna Inn!I arrived the afternoon of April 7th after one of the most awe inspiring drives of my life up the PCH. I checked in an unwound as I waited for Rosie to arrived. She came make-up and hair ready with a massive assortment of outfit changes. We discussed the shoot and video project. What we were hoping to do with the photos, took selfies and actually just hung out and got to know one another after a couple years of being Instagram friends.

The room was perfect. It was dark with areas of gold and greenish fabric accented with natural wood furniture. One of the many places I’ve shot over the years that I swear were custom designed as a set for my photography. Rosie was earlier in her career than she is now and she eased in to modeling, posing and moving around the hotel space. Everything we were taking was with scare available light. We shot for about two hours, then just decompressed from what was a long day and drive for both of us. She left around 11:00p.m., and distinctly remember having the best sleep of the entire trip. I made my way back to LA to catch my flight to Minneapolis, but my Madonna Inn room key came with me.

Thanks for reading! For more photography, art, illustration, tutorial and thoughts this side of the hard fork, follow me @kommienezuspadt! Have a great day and steem on!

Sort:  

Beautiful room and really nicely taken photos but more importantly Gorgeous Model and a big thumbs up from my side for that :)

Yeah, definitely a gorgeous model @raja! I can't deny that. She's so fun to shoot with. Thanks for the comment and vote!

HAHAHAHA! I don't even know how to respond to this little dog @jeewan! Thanks for the comment.

That place looks amazing, great shots!

Thanks very much @jameslano! Yeah. The Madonna Inn is incredible!

awesome post!! good stuff!

@kommienezuspadt resteemed and upvoted and added to daily great shots list🙂

Awwww, thanks @mxzn! You've been really great to me since you started here on Steemit. I appreciate all the support.

Vote to you plz support me

OMG this is beautiful ^ ^

HAHA! YAASSS! Thanks @yusaymon!

Awesome shots :)

Hey Lars, another great entry from your brilliant portfolio. I follow you religiously. And now, post hardfork, my 100% upvote is worth a top of the line cup of coffee at Caffetto, so have one on me :) ((b4 I excitedly burn through my voting power))

Hey! Thank you @greatdabu! It's great to hear from you! 100% upvote!? Thank you so much! Yeah, this hard fork has been WILD! Looking forward to new music and poetry! The incentives and rewards are outstanding right now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55400.25
ETH 2294.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33