Mad men!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Good evening, friends! Sitting down for a late night post […not sure how this one will go but it’s overdue]. Had a great day at @caffetto with @guthrie and @vermillionfox. A late night Steemit comic conversation of “what if’s” with @mada, and finally coming home during a rainy Minneapolis night to feedback from the Steemit Comic Trials announcement. Already, one incredible entry by Batman courtesy of @cryptlectibles. This is going to be hard to beat! Also, thank you so much to @steem-comic-con for making a gerenoud contribution to the reward pool for week one! I can’t wait to see what comes of this challenge.

Tonight, I’m posting the men that I’ve photographed over the years. I should preface this entire post by saying, I photograph whomever hires me, regardless of gender, weight, race or religion. It just so happens that I’m predominately hired by women. That doesn’t mean I haven’t had male clients, and although they’re a smaller piece of the pie, I really love photographing men.

One of the things I love about my job is creating a character or persona for the model I’m working with. Transforming them in to a villain, gangster or femme fatale from an old pulp crime novel or film. Much of my work, especially over the last five years, really captures that mid-century modern era of cinematic drama, and having a man to portray a Don Draper-esk “protagonist” […if you want to call them that] really creates a different mood than my femme fatale photography.

 

One interesting shoot that comes to mind is when I met Kaio Wilker, an incredible Brazilian model, in 2009. We first shot in Boston and I made a casual comment that he resembled James Dean. That evolved in to an entire project recreating classic James Dean photos. Still some of the best work of my career that’s been featured in style and fashion magazines from NYC to Brazil. I still consider Kaio one of my closest friends and plan to finally visit both him, his fiancé and @kellyjanderson in Seattle next year.

Other clients that’ve hired me for portraits are specifically looking for a Grand Theft Auto gangster character. Perhaps a club owner. It’s such a rewarding creative exercise to bring that character to life and considering how rarely men hire me, it’s a nice break from the routine.

Thanks for reading. I post daily, so for more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Love Mad Men and Don Draper is one my favorite TV characters of all time. I always wanted the Don Draper haircut too.

Extraordinary photos. I see big talent here :)

Great shots. But since i am in favor of a more edgy photography myself that disturbs a viewer a little bit i live one with the binoculars most. Maybe i connect to it somehow lol

Ahhhhh yassssss thank you so much for showing us some man candy! Very delicious breakfast for me. And as always, wonderful photography work Lars! :)

I was actually wondering if you photographed men too. Skull and the second one ^^

I love this post, generally speaking, men are under represented in portraiture, a quick spin through the popular page and counting men vs women will show you how big the disparity is. That is not intended to be a criticism of the fact that you mostly soot women, you shoot who you are hired to shoot. So I am excited to see portraits of men shot by a great portraiture photographer like you.

This is my favorite of the set. It really nails the whole James Dean vibe and wow he does look like him. The pose and the expression is masculine and feels very much like what you would have seen in late 50's films about a young Italian gang member. One thing that I find interesting about this shot is there is a touch of feminine in the face, his eyelashes and lids are so dark and lips so pink, it looks like he is waring makeup. Yet this slight feminization of the face does not take away from the masculinity of the shot. It is a pleasant visual dissonance that makes the shot very unique.

Ok, time to go check out the submissions to the Steemit Comic Trials!

Cheers,
@kellyjanderson

Haha this eye candy was overdue!
Love the elegance of this photographs🌹

coooooll...especially the one with that old skool...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79