Lighting escapades w/ latina pinup, Jacqlyn!

Hey, Steemit! I’m slipping in after hours for a late photography post. I’m getting back in to my Minneapolis routine after a month on the road. @vermillionfox and I were fortunate to get a night to ourselves while @guthrie sleeps over his brothers’. What are we doing? Late night at @caffetto, editing […which is my number one priority right now]. I still owe a few shoots from February [yikes], and all of Viva Las Vegas in April. It’s overwhelming to think of it as the mountain of work it really is, but I try to chip away at one shoot at a time, usually the oldest first.

This is one of those shoots. Bless this sweetheart. Her name is Jacqlyn. I photographer her years ago when she participated in a NOIR I LA event. I got a few outstanding photos of her that night. NOIR is great because it’s all inclusive. Hair, make-up, wardrobe and location are provided. The trade off is that the shoots are typically short [30 minutes in most cases], and the images are all black and white. As fun as it was to shoot with Jacqlyn, I think we both wondered what kind of pictures we could make with more time during a private session.

Last February, myself, @vermillionfox and @guthrie made a family trip during my work-cation in LA, Palm Springs and Vegas. I booked a few shoots, one of which was Jacqlyn. She contacted me when she saw the Instagram travel notice and we found a date that worked for both of us. It was great to see her again. She met earlier that afternoon with my friend Analisa, a brilliant hair and make-up artist. Jacqlyn came straight to the mansion in Flintridge and I gave her a tour of the space while we caught up.

I love shooting at this place. A little too much, actually. It’s a location I can afford, I have permission to shoot as I’ve become friends with the owners over the years, and it’s just breathtaking. There are nooks and crannies that capture the most subtle, soft light, no matter what time of day. The furnishing and decor is all original. Tons of wood and stone. Jacqlyn has such a classic look, the dark areas of the shoot created an ethereal, painterly look on her skin. This was absolutely one of those shoots that could have went all day if I let myself.

At the end of the shoot, we switched outfits and made some images outside. One shot in particular was behind the estate in an overgrown yard surrounded with trees. The sun was beating down on her, but I messed with the manual settings of my Nikon D750 to get a passable exposure. I know I’m the dark pinup guy, but sometimes I like to try things like this. She looked great, and it gave us a nice range of photos for her session. There are a lot more to come from this shoot. I’ll share them soon.

Thanks for reading and staying up late with me […or early in a lot of cases with my European friends]. I’ll be posting daily now that I’m home so for more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt. OH! One last thing. Trial by Comics is late but there will be an announcement of the winners and next theme tomorrow…..for sure. Good night!

Sort:  

I'm glad to see how the people you've worked with throughout your career are still looking for you because of the excellent work you do as a photographer! I love the photos of the session are a little different as you say but that gives a fresh touch and make out a little bit of the same

Hey @kommienezuspadt, please tell me how you manage to capture indoors, please share the accessories ?

It’s just a Nikon D750 and a 35mm lens, @clicked. No other equipment. It’s all available light.

I just loved the clicks they are without any noise :)

Very cool photos... they look warm... and this what makes me like it :)
I try come back and see what more you have :)

Was that text on her T-shirt deliberately hidden, @kommienezuspadt?

"Neither saints nor whores, only women" in spanish. This vocabulary reminds me of my country, Argentina. I think the girl is from here.

Keep writting this post always

Posted using Partiko Android

Tbh, Jacqlyn is less ethereal and more sultry cute to me! I hope she doesn’t mind I think so. Hehe.

Favourite pic is the last one. Kinda earthy and definitely quirky.

And I am very curious what the next themed drawing you have prepared for us. ❤️

Both indoor and outdoor shots have that unique @kommienezuspadt flavor that not only drips in sultriness but makes ups the model’s sexiness volumes to the highest level! Love it all!⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

It is good to be at home @kommienezuspadt, beyond being traveling which would be incredible, being at home feels much better.
The model is beautiful and I saw that the last picture had words in Spanish, the last sentence said "only women."

"Neither saints nor whores, only women" in spanish.

amazing work as usual!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73