Iola Car Show and east coast adventure!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hey, Steemit! I’m here. What a whirlwind few days this has been. Friday afternoon, myself, @vermillionfox and @guthrie left Minneapolis around 4:00p.m. A stop at the co-op for 20 cans of my favorite beverage [non-alcoholic] and new contacts […doesn’t sound like a big deal until you tear your last pair as a photography, on the other side of the country]. We made the 3 1/2 hour drive to Iola, WI. Checked in the our hotel and slept [somewhat] before waking up the next morning and meeting @wcpublishing at the Car Show fairgrounds. I was going to be signing copies of Dark Pinup along side Cherry Dollface and shooting the winner of the Iola Pinup Pageant.

We arrived under a hot, humid sun. Tens of thousands of people and car enthusiasts. @guthrie was on a mission to find cotton candy. @vermillionfox and I were just trying to find the @wcpublishing booth. We walked almost a mile before finally seeing Bob and Kelly. By the time we arrived at the tent, @guthrie was already tapping out. He was hot and sweaty; overtly dramatic. I think it’s good that on some occasions, he gets to see what I do for work. I’m not sure what his idea of “work” will be. He was raised at @caffetto watching me edit for 12 hour days. To experience the lengths of what goes in to the “travel” part of this job is probably good perspective.

Iola was great. We met some wonderful people […and some really weird ones]. Sold some books. During the time we were under the tent, I heard @guthrie yell “DAD! DAD!”. When I looked over, here was holding a tooth in his hand. His first tooth! I’m really glad I got to celebrate that milestone with him because under most circumstances, I’d have been on the road and he would have been home with @vermillionfox. The first two rounds of the Iola Pinup Pageant were held across from our tent. @guthrie and @vermillionfox headed back to the hotel early because of the heat. I shot the winner of the Pinup pageant, then headed back to meet my family.

The next morning, we were on the road at 7:00a.m. I didn’t feel at all intimidated by the length of this drive […for some reason]. Maybe because I’d justified that it was four hours shorter than leaving from Minneapolis […a trip we’ve made several times before]. I will tell you, though, it was long! About half way through, I was feeling the first signs of driving fatigued. I would never drive sleepy […almost, thankfully, @vermillionfox and I had a good night’s rest before leaving that morning], but soreness, stiffness and Subaru fever […similar to cabin fever] was setting in.

@vermillionfox and I were both suffering from a Culver’s […fast food burger joint in the midwest] hangover. We picked up a Caesar salad, which did help. @vermillionfox made two great Steemit posts on her iPad Pro, tethering from my cellular data […one of which was our playlist on the drive, so definitely check out her post “Now Playing”. Hours slowly slipped by with the occasional peep from the backseat as @guthrie would say “…how many hours now, Dad?”. Around midnight, we finally pulled in to @bonni’s driveway and the grandma/grandson duo was reunited.

Thanks for reading. I had to summarize a lot of the fourteen hour trip and Iola Weekend, but this trip is just getting started. @vermillionfox and I have a few shoots in NYC over the next couple of days. There will be a lot to come. In the meantime, I’m looking forward to see family and friends and getting caught up on editing. For more photography, art, illustration and travel, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

I want to say one thing and that is wow, because it's truly reflecting as colourful outing and spending time with family outside is amazing, and all these pictures are truly reflecting one thing and that is happiness and smiles.

And i can find one adorable thing and that is, how you called your son's broken tooth as milestone and celebration Ha ha. And in my opinion these small moments becomes greatest moments of life and you've done great thing by capturing it.

And for us most important aspect is our family and their happiness, and for sure i can see that you'll enjoying this moment and now these moments are captured and when you will going to look back in time then you can explore these smiles.

And in my opinion that picture in tent is highlighted one and for sure the environment is colourful, and day is also reflecting as pleasant. And i can say that outings with family also increase the bonding aspects in relationships.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

It really is a long journey, so many hours
That would give you a lot of fatigue on a work trip, but when you are sharing with the people you love, you enjoy it to the fullest.
Wow your first tooth, first congratulations to Guthrie and second I'm glad you were able to live that moment @kommienezuspadt since you are always traveling for your work and you miss things that happen to you, sometimes they are "insignificant" well, that maybe would think a person who has no children! but for parents it is something so wonderful and special! see how a little person who is part of us grows little by little and be able to be in those moments as a mother, I understand you! It's a milestone as you say ..
I hope you can have more free time so you can share it with your family.
The trip was long but he had a lot of success and Caesar salad can not be missed is delicious! my favorite!😍
Many beautiful women and so many colors, made me want to wear a dress😍

That must be a great trip full of the greatest moments, specialy when you meet new faces and new thoughts, i bet it was anazing experience!

Looks like a fun time! I would totally be like @guthrie looking for the cotton candy! 🍭

It is great that @guthrie has moved his first tooth that means that the child is becoming a man hehe on the other hand is also good to see the other side of your work, ie not all the time you will be editing photos or taking them that is also required of other Actions, in the rest you see that it was a hot day but the trip had good times, the photos are amazing thanks for sharing!

Looks like a fun trip! Its posts like that which remind me how small Ireland is. I can drive from one side to the other in 3 hours, and that feels like a long drive. Over 14 hours would kill me 😂

Wonderful way to relate and remember your experiences and experiences of traveling with your family, where you also show us your work and knowledge as a photographer. I really enjoy reading your post, I will follow you and vote, friend

Hey @kommienezuspadt, curious if you have heard about the Byteball airdrop to all Steemians yet. Based on your rep, you'd get $160 worth of tokens - $80 liquid, and $80 locked up for one year. If you haven't claimed them yet, I can send you a guide :)

First time I see an article where you appear in photo. Great your adventures. Remember to keep a healthy diet. I loved your friend's tattoos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55