Improvising in Las Vegas w/ Sassy Smart!

Hey, Steemit! I’m just sitting down to have dinner at 12:30a.m. before the Fourth of July holiday. It’s been a long day. I was able to spend most of the afternoon working, catching up on editing, researching flights, rental cars and administrative type tasks. @guthrie spent some time at a friend’s and @vermillionfox was hanging out with @lonnied. It was great to have a good 4 - 5 hours to dedicate to work without any interruptions. When the interruptions did come, they came in the form of @tarotbyfergus, which I didn’t mind because I played pretty fucking good tonight. I even held off Nicol Bolas in Commander.

Quickly, I just wanted to thank all of you who participated in this week’s Trial by Comics, and of course @steemmonsters for allowing us to loan the theme. This has been of the biggest Trial by Comics turn outs in recent memory and the art is so incredible! World class. Tomorrow I’ll be announcing the winners, announcing the new theme and distributing 40.000SBD’s in prizes and 10 packs, courtesy of @steemmonsters. You’re all so great! Trail by Comics was something I started as an excuse to draw each week and thanks to the Steemit artist community, it’s become this remarkable art initiative across the entire platform.

Alright. I did say I got a lot of work done today and that’s what I wanted to share. Tonight’s photography comes from a shoot I did during Viva Las Vegas with an Asian pinup model named Sassy. Nearing the final weeks leading up to Viva, I had a cancelation from a girl that was to fly in from The UK. I posted an opening on Instagram and Sassy contacted me looking to grab the final booking. My dates in LA the week prior left me in an organizational fog. Sassy and I met at Polo Towers on the Las Vegas strip, I met her husband and after a few minutes, we began shooting.

Sassy wore a beautiful traditional Vietnamese gown. Colorful flowers against navy blue, then it occurred to me that there were walls of flower on the roof top of Polo Towers. I’d seen them there the previous year and thought it’d be perfect for photos under the right circumstances. We headed up to the roof and I was able to direct here in the middle of a small 8’ wide space to catch her and the foliage all within the camera frame. The sun was bright and Sassy’s eyes began to tear, which for my style of photography, wasn’t a bad thing. Tragically sad and beautiful.

The shoot took us about two hours. An our at Polo Towers and an hour in the front lobby of The Artisan Hotel, just hours before my Dark Pinup book release party with @wcpublishing. Thanks for reading and staying up late with me! For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

I literally told myself late yesterday evening that if you haven’t posted by the time I wake up, I’m texting you to see if you are alive 😝 Been missing you and your photography!

HA! Yeah. It's been a busy week @eveuncovered. Just trying to get my life in order for these two upcoming trips. Thanks for thinking of me! <3

It began as an excuse to draw and is becoming a great project! Thanks to you for giving the opportunity to many artists to participate in the contest is an excellent work of yours and @steemmonsters

Beautiful!!

5 cent self upvote and you couldnt have at least written more than just one word? really lame man... really lame./ YTou do whatyou want but when you do lazy shit like this you might as well have just posted a picture of your owwn shit and yourself giving uis the middle finger,because thats basically what this is, a big fuck you to all the steemians like me who take the time to write lng thoughftul commments... you cant even take the time to give upvotes to Other comments even 1 cent when there are comments with whole paragraphss, you could at least given a few otehr comments a penny or two THEN given yourself the 5 cent upvote FATER you at LEAST wrote two sentences, is it THAt hard to write just 14 or 20 words??? It literally takes seconds and a few movements of your wrist and fingers... probobly burning less than 0.01 of your daily energy output...

LOl come on man, just try harder.. when you push YOUR one word comment up past the many other comments here from people who actually put in effort, your insulting everyone and just playing the game ina really lame and pathetic manner. Why cant you just talke the time to give out a few 1 cent upvotes to at least 1 r two pther comments before giving yourSELRF one 5 cent upvote pushing itto the top when all u wrote was ONE word? IUf you had just wroitten ONE 10 word sentence, iu wouldnt have cared! If you could have just wroitten a FEW senmtences so your comment was at LEAST as long as the OTHER comments in here, it would make you and steem lok SO much better!

But its spammy comments like this that lowers the overall value and quality of steem, so please, try harder, if not for our sake for yur OWN sake! You YOURSELF will get FDAr mor eupvotes when you leav THUGHTFUl messages and not just one word with 2 exclamation points !!

Sorry if im a lil harsh man, but i get sick of it! But as u can tell, i aint flaggin u, do whsat u wnat but just know thats how i feel, i may be wrong, maybe i shouldnt care but when u assert your ONE word comment over EVERYPONE elses, when others actualy put EFFORT into their comments, its just not Fair and so i made it fair and rearranged these comments but still kept your comment second t top sopeopel coudl see what it looks like to just upvote your wn low effort onme word spam comment to thetop of an otehrwise nice post.

Nice comment 🤯

To be an improvisation the photos turned out very well, I loved her hairstyle and the contrast that is created in the image of the rooftop with the natural light of Las Vegas in the background and the colors of Sassy's hair and clothes.

Speaking about trialbycomics, I think we should all thank you for taking that initiative and sharing it with us, it's always good to set personal goals, and it's even better when those plans lead to something bigger.

P.S. I would really have loved for you to have involved that golden cat a little more in the photo shoot.

Totally fascinating reading about your life Lars. It's fun sharing isn't it. Funny as you and I do completely different things and live completely different lives. Yet we both wake up each morning go on steemit and thank people for their complimentary comments on how we both live and what we do.

You're photography is on another lever. But you already know that! lol

I'm now in Prague Czech Republic. Have you ever made it to this part of the world? One of the most photogenic and beautiful cities I've ever been to. I'm sure you and your camera would have a field day here.

Just a walk though Prague castle dating back to 800 AD is enough to set you back on your heels. Bring one of your models and you got yourself one hell of a photo shoot!

Happy 4th and hope you are having a great day!

-Dan

The photos and Sassy's dress are very beautiful, about #TrialbyComics I love it, it's good that you decided to create that excuse to create your art which is very good.

How beautiful is this! (But isn’t all your work just so?) ☺️

I love the story these tell. I mean they tell different stories for everyone and that is what I love. I love art with story and this is so full of story.

I really love her hair! The cool green amongst all that warm hot gold, such indulgence and exuberance.

I love that you actually read them @donnadavisart! As time goes on and I see a lot of authors' posts getting shorter, and innovations like SteepShot [...which I'm not hating on. I love seeing new development on the STEEM blockchain], it does seem like Steemit is deciding if it's long form or short posts like Instragram. I think I'm an old school enough Steemian that I like long posts. I often wonder if they're worth the time to write them, so thank you for validating me :P

I often feel the same way. I wonder when one takes the time to really write and organize photos and artwork and then might see a series of just one shot doing far better then their hard work. But, I also know it is not fair or even wise to compare, but it is hard not to.

I also don't mind short posts either, but they can also be well curated and I can often see the difference. And as I also am unsure if Steemit is going long or short form, I am considering again trying to do more than one post a day, something I gave up a while ago, simply to share a simple photo post and then possibly a drawing post and see if it's adding to our community or is it just me dropping more flotsam and jetsam on the already littered shore?

Well, it's all an experiment, really, so I'll just treat Steemit like I do my art and just keep trying out random things and see what works best :)

I love that the tearing up eyes were the act of environment because in the photo it does add to the melancholy of the gaze upon the mean city. Well done.

Funny how things that we might first perceive as a fault sometimes turn into the best happy accidents - the tears make that photo so tragically beautiful. And she emotes with it perfectly. Great shot!

We laughed about that quite a bit @offbeatbroad. I think it had something to do with her false lashes. The entire shoot, tears were just streaming down her face. For my style in particular, it was perfect.

looks awesome man! :D

I'm btw going to vegas next month.. first time in the USA ,, so excited! :D

When are you going to be there @beekart? There’s a pretty good chance we may be able to coordinate.

I will be there the 31st to 2nd of August.. just a few days. After SDCC my gf and I will rent a car and tour around California for a few weeks :D

And ofc drive by Vegas to make sure we go home broke! :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57