First photos w/ NYTimes best selling author, Holly Madison!

Good afternoon, Steemians! Already a busy day working on look book projects for some clients in LA and an quaint tea session with with @lovejoy. Back at Caffetto, editing photos. I’m disciplining myself with Affinity Photo, trying to learn new ways of doing post processing that I’ve been accustomed to for over 10 years. The learning curve is painful, but I can see the potential improvement in workflow efficiency when I’m able to bring my iPad Pro to work and that’s it. I’m starting to compile everything I need for a big, elaborate review of the new iPad Pro and Affinity Photo.

One of the projects I’m working with using Affinity Photo is my recent shoot with former “The Girls Next Door” star and NYTimes best selling author, Holly Madison, during my last trip to LA. This was years in the making. Holly found me on Instagram after shooting her friend  and former Playboy colleague, Claire Sinclair. At the time, I wasn’t aware of just who she was when “@hollymadison liked your post” notifications showed up on my phone. It wasn’t until @frenchvanilla glanced at my phone and said “HOLY SHIT! Is that THE Holly Madison?”. I haven’t had cable in over 10 years so I missed “The Girls Next Door” entirely.

Eventually, we began talking and discussed the possibility of shooting together one of my future trips to LA. We found what looked like a date during my fall trip in 2015. Just weeks before my flight, Holly contacted me with news that she was six weeks pregnant with her second child! Naturally, that news changed our plans, by at least a year. The opportunity to photograph Holly Madison became a milestone I was looking forward to […even if originally I wasn’t aware of the significance], but I’ve become quite zen about the universe providing me fortuity when I’m meant to have it. 

We stayed in touch and I continued shooting and working, and Holly continued to have her baby, which she did last spring. A beautiful baby girl. Only a month or two after that, she reached out to me and asked when I’d be coming back to the west coast, and like that…we were on track for the long awaited collaboration. As our scheduled lined up, it would be the during my LA dates following Viva Las Vegas.

I booked this giant, ornate […expensive] mansion in La Cañada that came across my radar from a friend in the film industry. The expense was worth it to meet the expectations of such an anticipated shoot. She was a total professional. She arrived ten minutes early and my brilliantly talented friend Liz Garza of Silvercreen Vanity readied her in a perfect vintage style. My friend Masha’s mother is a Russian immigrant that creates breathtaking museum quality jewelry and I was able to loan three pieces for this session.

We shot fast, changing through three looks in just under two hours. We made great use of the space and worked on the top  and first floors. I relished the chance to capture Holly in the darker, moodier esthetic I’m known for. She has such an intimidating portfolio and reel, it was reassuring to know I was getting photos her fanbase hasn’t already seen. We wrapped a little early and Holly was on her way. She’s been great ever since. It’s astounding to see the avalanche of love our photos get on her Instagram account with almost a million followers? If you’re wondering, yes…I definitely explained Steemit to her during our time shooting! :P

Thanks for reading! For more photography, illustration, art and thoughts on life, follow me @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Holly Madison with the Black dress is wonderful, i really like your shots, keep going !

Wow looking good. The quality you can get out of the Affinity Photo seems infinite. Would you recommend it over PS or Lightroom?

Amazing shots buddy.
Great Job!

What great shots.

Wow awesome shots!! I'm glad I decided to follow weeks ago.
Could I ask you something, I'm mostly an aerial photographer, but I'm thinking about getting a Sony a7 to get more ground shot, been using a borrowed Nikon D3200, but many friends have recommended the a7 with a 35mm f1.8 lens.

Any comment or help would be appreciated, and again amazing photos!

One more excellent work @kommienezuspadt. Don't even have to repeat: Upvoted, resteemed & DPS :)

Wow really grate and special pix, compliments dude!

Shes' very elegant looking. :)

Excellent work, as always... Cheers for sharing these insights with us! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77