Dark pinup at the Umbrella Company!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

It’s almost midnight and I’m sitting down to make a post before bed. It was a balls out Steemit day, guys. Start to finish, 12 hours of Steemit related work! Earlier this week I announced a Minneapolis Steemit-centric introduction film project in my blog “Steemit short film project this Friday, June 23rd open to ANYONE in Minneapolis!”. Today was the day and holy shit did we have a turn out! I shot introduction footage of @mada, @greatdabu, @lovejoy, @kooks88, @millsguthrie, @vermillionfox, @elderfinancial, @boxcar, @moony, @jezebel, @denno, @tarotbyfergus and myself! We even did a seriously gangster slow walk video I’ll be showing in a few days. The entire day was shot on an iPhone 7 Plus using an Osmo mobile gimbal bought entirely with STEEM rewards! I can’t wait to see how this turns out.

Tonight’s [late] post comes from a recent shoot I had in LA. I was working with Doris Mayday and the usual hair and make-up team. We needed a cool place to shoot and that’s always the hardest part of Los Angeles. Doris’ fiancée is a brilliant interior and set designer and had been working on readying a new bar in Hollywood for opening. It’s called Melrose Umbrella Company, and had a rich history in the facilities beginnings as an actual umbrella company. They kept much of the original wood and architecture and modified the manufacturing space in to an open bar area. For me, it couldn’t have been any better. It completely fit my style and esthetic.

At this point, I’d been working with Doris for years. We’d gotten incredibly use to our process of shooting and collaborating. She took the lead at times, finding unique poses as I’d direct her the rest of the way in to something just slightly further than her original idea. There was no end to the possibilities of photos we could make with the venue’s surroundings. I was able to shoot through old, original glass does and wrap Doris up in the original wooden chairs that were stacked high against the wall. I live for these kind of locations and to shoot it with a model as professional and talented as Doris was a true pleasure.

We wrapped in under two hours with several lingerie looks courtesy of What Katie Did who has sponsored my shoots since the first session I did with Doris in Los Angeles. Melrose Umbrella Company was an unbelievable place to shoot and a year later, I’d return to shoot the “Breathtakingly Beautiful” look book for Pinup Girl Clothing at the same location. I hope you enjoyed the editorial.

For more photography, art, illustration and thoughts on life in general, be sure to follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

I wish I could take photos as good as you do.. Sexy as HELL!

Thank you @kaarel! Just 17 years of stubborn shooting until I found my style.

Oh wow 17 years! Much respect for the dedication!

What an Awsome day it was! Thank you for getting it all together. It was such a fun time getting to know everyone and chat about Steemit and assortment of other things. I am greatly looking forward to the video and hopefully a dope release at the July meetup. Pictures are looking great in your post here as well. Big fan of how her hair color ties in so well with the background, give me a real natural feeling, like she is supposed to be there. Pumped to see more from you!

Thanks @elderfinancial! Yeah, that was such a fun day. I'm still kind of recovering from it. I had to do a few reshoots yesterday. It was great meeting you as well! I'll see you at @timcliff's Meetup in July!

Photography is one hell of a beauty when the passion is superb and the camera can make a million mile act get focused. I love everything about this post. Juicy and tasty. ..winks..❤❤❤❤❤

Very nice work!!

very well taken pictures!

Wow what a beautiful shot and lady, a good sight to see after waking up. Doing a good job and deserve my upvote and following in order to see more and send in my support.

Good one indeed

the dark tone is really great plus the model...

Thanks @jzeek! Yeah, she's outstanding. I loved shooting with her over the years.

Thanks very much @charles1! I appreciate the vote and follow. Lots more where these came from.

welcome..stay in touch

If only she had her eyes slightly open and looking at me...

It is what it is @lucky.digger. There may have been one like that in the camera roll but this was the one I grabbed. Thanks of the comment.

Don't feel insulted, I fell in love with her, wanted more. I am waiting for further great pics of yours. Thank you again. Recharging my upvoting power...

just awesome!

You definitely captured the pin up aesthetic with the location for sure. Great shoot

Thanks @sheepishwolf! The locations are always so hard to come up with in Los Angeles. I got really lucky with this one. Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51