Contemplating the past year while facing the New Year!

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Happy New Year, Steemit! This is my first post of 2019. My final Instagram post of the year read “I’ve abandoned all expectations for 2019. I’m usually one of these “...this is my year!” assholes. I don’t feel that way this time. I can’t imagine higher highs than I experienced in 2018. Contrastingly, I feel the same about the lows. I’ve been humbled by what this year brought me. My forecast for 2019 is rather pessimistic, but if there’s anything 2018 taught me, it’s that these chapters are part of a long story I won’t understand till the very end.” Parts of that send off are more poignant here on Steemit than even Instagram.

Because of the unprecedented bull run we all enjoyed in 2017 and early 2018, I thought the rest of this year was mapped out entirely. I expected to have a cushion, insulating me from the need to travel, shooting every few weeks. I wanted to work on comic projects with @ghostfish, like @coppercoins. The more I fixated on that reality, the more I began to resent my current job as a photographer. After a painfully steady bear market slump, I’m coming around to appreciate my current career in an entirely new way. It’s a job I’m lucky to have. Part of the silver lining perspective that’s come with a humbling crpyto-market.

I wasn’t able to meet all of my goals by midnight on December 31st. I planned to finish my remaining Viva Las Vegas clients by the end of the year. There were some circumstances beyond my control, so I’m not beating myself up about it too bad. My end of the year stressors were minimized by crises that several close friends have been experiencing and I chose to be present as a support system for them. That took time and patience, and cut in to what I could realistically accomplish by 2019. I did, however, close my Wells Fargo account, and delete Facebook. Both promises I made myself.

I spent the day in my usual spot at @caffetto, finally getting back to a routine. @vermillionfox and I both logged six hours of time writing, drawing and editing. My New Year pessimism was briefly sustained by the productivity I’ve been missing these past few weeks. I managed to dedicate the entire night to finishing photos of Midwest pinup model, Ginny Rosewater. She’s one of the spokeswomen for @wcpublishing, the publishers of my book, Dark Pinup. I love how these turned out and I think a NSFW post my first Steemit blog of 2019 is a statement that there are good things to come.

I’m looking forward to more days like this. Productive, meaningful hours working towards goals that are realistic, rewarding and obtainable. There’s a lot of disruption in my [our] lives right now. I’m trying to roll with the punches and just accept the volatility and the lessons from current hardships. We’re all overdue for a reading from @tarotbyfergus. Whatever this year throws at me, I’ll have so much to share. Thanks for the continued support. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here at @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

I'm glad that both you and foxxie are fighters and survivors, because my Steemit experience would feel really different if there's no new post from either of you.
                     
I hope 2019 will be a better and more successful year for all of us. And I want Steem price to go up higher so you'll make another comic page :D.

We're good, @scrawly. It's just a demanding, uncertain time with a lot of change. Fortunately, we both believe deeply in art therapy and that's helping us both through it all. A nice silver lining is having Steemit to share that work.

Happy New Year man! You may be refraining, so allow me to step in and be the asshole for you... because I firmly believe that ”this is your year!!!”

I don't feel that way @bryan-imhoff, but a humbled approach may not be the worst thing. I'm not as stubbornly expecting any outcome, so it leaves me open to almost anything.

Well, I’ll stubbornly remain Steem optimistic for my own selfish reasons... and coupling that with the amazing strides I’ve seen in your comic work throughout 2018, I’d say you’re set up for success.

Hppy New Year mate and I hope that 2019 is going to be great for you and also give you some space to chill. Btw, the last image is gorgeous.

Thanks, @tarazkp! Same to you. Really glad I found you this past year. You've been a light in a dark time for Steemit. I live vicariously through you as I wish I could find to write more thoughts and slightly less photography. I have an overactive mind and only 10% of what I think tends to make it to Steemit posts. Thanks for all the support this past year.

That means a lot to me mate, thank you. An overactive mind is a blessing and curse I find, so much to do, so little time.

Thanks for all the support this past year.

Thank you.

I've been enjoying your posts in silence, mostly; I like your impressive use of lightning, and I find most of your models awesome. Happy new year and hope things work out for the best. I've never had a facebook account, so I can't relate to what it feels like to delete your account there -- but I guess it must be a hard decision. And a good one :)

Thanks very much @nyarlathotep. Good for you for never opting in to that life-suck. It felt really good to end it all. Thanks for the follow, support and comment on the work. Have a great New Year.

Congratulations @kommienezuspadt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Beautiful as always, you have that special magic through your lens.

Thank you, my darling @artedellavita. Happy New Year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88