Color, cosmetics and Eastern beauty in New York City!

Hey, Steemians! How are you all tonight? Good. Me, too. For tonight’s photography blog, I decided to unearth some older work that hasn’t made it to Steemit previously, in any capacity. I knew I had some gems hidden amongst the hundreds of folders within a HD from the last 17 years of shooting full time. I did find one, and it’s a beauty. 

This was a make-up portfolio with with a talented beauty artist in New York City named Andrea. She came to me through Instagram with a very specific need. At some point, artists usually make an investment in themselves and decide to make the leap in to a professional, freelance career. This was Andrea’s time and she wasn’t entrusting me with the photos for her first professional beauty book.

We’d corresponded for weeks leading up to the shoot. The models were of Indian descent, so she thought a color, traditional Indian wardrobe would compliment the bright colors for the make-up looks. When I arrived, I met her at Herald Square. Both models arrived shortly there after and she finished their looks.

The entire shoot, we walked through Central Park stopping and taking pictures as we went. For those who haven’t been to New York City, Central Park is no joke. You can shoot in most areas without catching a single building in the background. It’s massive and filled with interesting canopies, rocks and ponds with surrounding trails. 

Eventually, we came across an ornate, wooden pavilion next to a stream. This was the backdrop for some of my favorite photos of the shoot. The were shadowy and emotive, while still being in enough daylight to illuminate the face and make-up. Especially in circumstances like this, as the photographer, it’s your responsibility to not only make good pictures but pictures the client wants and can use. 

Thanks for reading. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

@kommienezuspadt, I like the photos and yes Central Park is very large.

  • Dop£ Art,

    MikQuote™

very awesome for me .. you show me very good photo, i really like to see nice photo. and you add words that fascinate me

I appreciate you reading the words as well, @imamalkimas.

i will read all your posts. because I think you made a very good photo and a beautiful word. i like your posts

Very beautiful model photos and beautiful portraits. I am very sure you are a great photographer. May always be successful for you @kommienezuspadt.

Thanks a lot @rizasukma. I try. I've been doing it a long, long time. Thanks for the kind wishes.

You are welcome 😊.

wow....so beautiful,amazing photography i love it

wow...so beautiful,amazing photography,lovely story.read to enjoy this post,very good job.thanks for sharing

Thank you @quinnpeterson! I love when people actually read the post. I feel like I'm one of a dying breed that still writes my Steemit blogs long form.

Sooo beautiful. It really looks like they are in the middle of nowhere but they're in Central Park. So pretty!

I love how the models hold their hands in a sisterhood feeling. Last photograph is also very expressive and great composition.

Awnnn so interesting! I am also a photographer, a NikonD5300 user. This post reminds me of my Friday shoot. It was for a creche. They were organising a Christmas party for the kids there. You have just given me an Idea on how to go about my photography post. I think we shouldn't only show our viewers our finished photo, but we should also carry them along as to what happened behind the scene. Thanks very much @kommienezuspadt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78