Braving 118º desert temperatures to create art at the Nude Bowl!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I’m grateful for the time I have to write this post tonight, Steemit. Typically, when I’m traveling and shooting, it’s the only time I’m not regularly writing blogs here. This trip has been packed, two shoots a day for 8 days straight. When I decided to work this trip in to the end of the year, my intent was to make some money and line up the last shoots of 2017 for the Dark Pinup book I’m doing with @wcpublishing. Originally, it was meant to be a 4 - 5 day trip, but with more bookings, bigger opportunities and additional travel, it ended up being 11 days. Longer than I anticipated, but I’m not stressed about it. I’m spending time with my friends Berrit and @danielkiessler in Palm Springs, something I intend to do during Viva Las Vegas, and the closes semblance to a vacation I’ve had in five years. 

I arrived here in Palm Springs last night. Myself, @danielkiesslerart and Berrit sat outside on their back patio and caught up, waiting for our friend and make-up artist, Cara Zozula to arrive. We laughed, we talked about today’s shoot. We decided to brave the Palm Springs sun, waking up early and arriving at the hidden, legendary and infamous Nude Bowl. @danielkiessler passed me his phone with a YouTube video documenting skate, punk and graffiti history of Nude Bowl. I was sold. The thought of shooting under 110º temperatures made me cringe, but it was different, and at this point in my career, “different” is what drives most of my decisions.

We rose with the sun, packed bags and a case of water. We drove to the secluded entrance to the Bowl’s location and navigated two miles up rough mountain side terrain. We did eventually find it, and it was everything I was promised. Also, as promised, we were looking at 101º before 9:00a.m. Just walking out of the car felt like a hairdryer 2” from your face! The only other time I can recall experience heat at this extreme was when I visited @mtbmondo in Phoenix in July. You have to just laugh at it.

Berrit had two outfit changes. Cara worked quickly assisting with make-up, hair and wardrobe, and @danielkiesslerart made regular rounds of bringing us water, sunscreen and props like a badass mirrored skateboard. It was incredible to see the team effort that went in to making these photos a reality, given the conditions. 

Berrit, as always, was a total pro. Any ideas that came to me, she was ready to attempt. Even when I’d say “Lay down on this…”, cement that was being baked under the sun for hours. She was patient with what became frequent make-up fixes due to sweat, wind and dust. The scenery beyond the Bowl was equally breathtaking. Just such a perfect culmination of people, talent and art.

Thanks for reading. I’m off tomorrow, so I’ll be posting in the afternoon, then making my way back to LA to photograph @thomaskuntzart, then walk him through the remaining steps for his Steemit introduction post. For more photography, illustration, art and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Awesome location! Interesting story. Thank you for sharing all of this. :)

What a smashing location! The results definitely look like they were worth the heat.

Thank you @munchell! It was too good of an opportunity to pass up, even in the heat. I'm glad we did it. Thanks for the comment!

I really felt like the woman was underwater in that first photo, great work on the color correction

Yeah! Seriously, @drwatson! Berrit and @danielkiesslerart were standing next to me while I finished this edit and they both said the same thing! What a cool, unintended effect!

Haha yeah at a quick glance my mind tricked me into thinking you said "fish bowl". Add a weird perspective, a lot of blue and hair/dress spilling in every direction and it's no wonder my brain did a double take.

Wow, that location is awesome!!!

Such a cool place to shoot at! Love Palm Springs!
Bearing the desert sun is true dedication to your art friend :)

Palm Springs is great but during the summer, I usually just hide in the air conditioning. This was quite the experience! It was commitment to the craft @artedellavita, for sure! :P

I think it was worth the sunshine and sweat!
Lovely day to you!
Love the tiki bars there!

Wish I was there with you guys! Minus the intense heat. You know me.

I know. We all do. You would have NEVER survived the desert shoot, though! :P

Love the Dino bowl! And the great colour contrast with the model and teal bg

The dinosaur was new @ivhexe! Berrit and her husband were there last week and half of the bowl was all black. These kids come up and change it every weekend!

..“different” is what drives most of my decisions. Don't lose this. There are so many people out there who are doing what is expected of them, what they think would work the masses, what is safe. Different pushes your own boundaries.

I love seeing behind the scenes of your work. Loved the piece @vermillionfox did as well. ^^

Amazing atmosphere of the place and shoot!

That is call being productive :) And i like the last location and how you are using that open shade :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42