Abstract ink photography; take two!

Guten abend, Steemit. Finally setting in for a nightly blog post. I’m feeling kind of crummy. I’ve fought a bout of lethargy all day, starting with a slow start to the morning. @vermillionfox and I get about one day a week to sleep in and sometimes, it’s not enough. We picked up @guthrie from school and celebrated this week’s Family Fun Night seeing Terminator: Dark Fate in theaters. Kind of a let down. @guthrie has been obsessed with Terminator since seeing T2 a few weeks ago. His review of the film was harsh.

Another bit of mediocracy was day two of my acrylic ink abstract photography tests. This is an entirely new world of photography for me. It’s like starting all over again. You can read about my initial tests in yesterday’s blog, “Experimenting w/ abstract ink photography!”. Light was the biggest obstacle. This clearly needs a lot of light to shoot at a high shutter speed and freeze the action. I do want to preserve my dark style, though. I see lots this kind of photography and I want to do something different.

I don’t want to backlight the shots entirely. Tonight I taped wax paper to our living room window to defuse some of the natural light and set the tank up in front of it. Just as the sun was going down, @vermillionfox helped me set up candles for ambient light, and @guthrie shot these great slow motion videos to document the process. Tonight’s ink photography was better. I definitely learned more and there’s been a noticeable improvement with more light. It does seem to retain the darker “mood”, though.

I ordered a set of syringes from 14G to 22G. Once they arrive, I’m going to start setting up scenes within the glass. First thing I’d like to try is fresh flowers in the water. There’s a lot of possibilities and I’m really excited to have this kind of enthusiasm for something brand now. Like every Friday, tomorrow is going to be really busy, but I’m hoping to have time for more abstract ink photography on Sunday. Have a great night. Thanks for supporting my blog. For more photography, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

This is great and thanks for the gif, I can work from that :)

HA! Surely, @tarazkp. It's been a rewarding process to get even this far.

Congratulations @kommienezuspadt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 80000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Absolutely cute 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

deranged You just received DERANGED @kommienezuspadt Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

Cool photo ink experiment, looks like some natural structure of the universe :)

Thanks, @vikisecrets! I agree. I'm a big astrophysics nerd so I definitely see the comparison to galaxy formations like the Pillars of Creation.

Hi Lars, truly a very beautiful abstract painting. I am very inspired by your technique for painting this painting. Are you dripping ink into water, sir? I have never seen this method before. Truly extraordinary. Have a nice day, sir.

This is actually a photo, @elianaelisma. It's just acrylic ink squirted in to water. It's fascinating. I have some more experimenting to do, but I'm liking the results so far.

It is fun to play with such things. Long time ago I stuck a plastic sheet to the window which I had I dribbled acrylic ink on and sprayed with Windex, then slightly crumpled it and took photos. Can't remember the light situation. I am still milking this for abstract design variations in Photoshop.

SH100065web.jpg

For example mirrored, I used it for fabric designs - T-shirts, Leggings etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58522.85
ETH 2614.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43