YellowStone: Bald Eagle pair!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Today I was very lucky and saw two bald eagles in Yellowstone. I have been seeing bald eagles a few times actually so far in the national park. But today was very special for two main reasons.

First off I got to be at a distance to get a decent close up of this magnificent bird.

Eagle-8.jpg

Since they are usually high up and often far away that is not easy to do, even though I have a pretty decent zoom with the 100-400 L lens from Canon. Sill one can never have enough zoom when shooting wildlife. So this time I felt pretty fortunate that I was able to walk towards their nest so close to be able to get the shot above.

But then the second special thing happened just like that: Another eagle started to approach Eagle-1.jpg

Of course I was totally not ready! My camera was mounted on the tripod and the settings had to be changed as well. Still I was able to get some shots of the landing.Eagle-2.jpg

Eagle-4.jpg

Eagle-5.jpg

Eagle-6.jpg

Eagle-7.jpg

Seeing the bird fly this way is nothing I had ever seen before, so this certainly made for the highlight of my day.

Sort:  

Thank you for the awsome upvote on my comment!
If you like to see more about bald eagle nests, here are some recommendations:

The Dale Hollow eagle cam


The Dale Hollow eagles start nesting in early spring, and the eglets fledge usually end of May/ early June. You can see them 24/7 live, but during the night its a little difficult sometimes. You can even see the (empty) nest now.

Southwest Florida Eagle Cam

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0aJpP4DgTL96qnQE5BA1Sw
This YT channel has currently no live stream, but it is the best eagle cam I have seen so far when in operation, from the location as well as the technical equipment. The camera can pan and zoom and is controlled by volunteers.
The eagles there start nesting usually in late November/December and the eaglets hatch in early January.

It is amazing to follow the eaglets growing up, and you can learn so much about them. But it can also be sad at times - nature can be brutal. These are not Disney productions...

They are really beautiful birds. But I dont see a nest there. Their nests are much bigger, nearly 6 ft in diameter. Also its too late in the year for them to have a nest, they do that in spring. Except in regions where its always warm, there they nest as early as Dec / Jan.
Did you see any eagles of the same size, that were all dark brown or black? They are their youngsters. It takes 4-5 years before they get the white hood and the orange beak.

hut ab.... es ist nich einfach derartige Fotos zu machen.......wir haben hier in der Lausitz Seeadler.....jedoch keine Weiskopf ...... und die vor die Linse zu bekommen ist schon ein Glücksfall...... klasse Bilder!!!

wow, lucky you and great photographic captures!! I can imagine your excitement at seeing them so close. Once sitting chatting and eating lunch on the Oregon Coast 2 juvenile eagles flew 10 feet in front of my friend and I. We both stopped speaking in mid-sentnece and turned to each other with open mouths. No cameras, just sandwiches in hand, but neither of us will forget that sighting.

Yes it was crazy awesome! I was fiddling with my camera getting it out of the tripod....it seemed to have taken forever.

The landing of the second of the pair was so majestic!!

I would love to see some eagles one day in my life, we don't have these in my country, I have always been fascinated by them.
You really got some great shots of them mate! Wow.

love me some NPS will you be at any other parks?

Also the Tetons! Saw some sick Moose action today!

awesome. Love that Jackson lake. I wish I could live on a sail boat in that lake. Enjoy, they have the best wildlife. I think its better than Jellystone.

Oh ich liebe Weißkopfseeadler...ich habe auch einige Fotos von ihnen...nur leider bin ich noch nie in den Genuss gekommen, ein paar in freier Wildbahn zu sehen.
Wunderbare Fotos, kommen gleich an meinen Wand :)

I'm headed to Yellowstone next week. I hope I'm lucky enough to get to see one. I've seen lots of eagles and hawks but never a bald eagle. Great shots also. You couldn't gave asked for better luck.

Epic shoots my friend! I am jealous a bit, what a great nature!

thx. One day we gonna go on a trip together!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57428.63
ETH 2425.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34