Marine Iguanas fighting for territory and eating under water

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I just came back from a wonderful trip to the Galapagos I announced a little while back . I will be blogging about it here and hope some of you will enjoy the stories but most of all the pics and videos.

The iguana is one of those mesmerizing animals on these islands that inspired Darwin to come up with the theory of evolution. The marine iguana is so special because it is one of the animals that only exist on the Galapagos and had to adapt quite a bit in order to survive there.

Marine Iguana-3.jpg

As such it is the only lizard in the world that enjoys the water and can hold its breath for up to one hour to when eating algae. I felt very lucky when I was able to witness this a few times this year. On a previous before I had been looking to see this but never got the chance.

Here is a short video about it, check out how cool it is.

I was also very very lucky to experience an Iguana fight on the lava rocks, something that so far I have only been able to see on TV. It was especially lucky as the mating season usually starts in January or later and this particular encounter was a bit early in November. I was able to capture some of the fight on video as well.

I will be posting more of my Galapagos footage in the near future.

Sort:  

Great impressions!

Thank you! Berlin is my birthplace, say hi to the city for me next time you step out the door :-)

Beautiful!!! We want MORE :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59