Travel - Ethiopia - Rural Villages pt. 2

in #photography5 years ago

IMG_0017_edited.jpg

The dilemma of how to develop underdeveloped nations isn’t something to gloss over nor should the resolutions always consist of providing material things. My time in Ethiopia has shown me that there are certain aspects to living in poverty that are beneficial to the soul. There’s this common characteristic many of the people I’ve met share, which is their selflessness. Selfishness due to this lack of wanting, or needing, more. There’s very little competition, in regard to wanting what you don’t need or “Keeping up with the Joneses”. I’ve known, let’s call it “Western” selflessness, to look out for others and to do onto others without expectation of acknowledgement. It’s something many of us strive to master. Travel to Ethiopia and you’ll meet countless people who seemed to have mastered the ability to simply be content and selfless. There isn’t a day that goes by where I’m not invited over to eat at someone’s house, with expectation of nothing but company; there isn’t a day that goes by where I’m not stopped and greeted by the community. Being black, I sometimes “fit right in” but that never stops people form greeting me and showing gratitude for my existence. People love to greet here and it’s something that often seems forced in the west. Don’t get me wrong, you’ll run into opportunists, but even they have a mutual respect for the relationship and will often express to you “I want a friendship to speak better English”. My willingness has led to a full contacts list on my phone, but the benefit of that, aside from people to contact, is daily reminders of appreciation. Everyday a contact will call to see how I am and if I need anything. Everyday! I often get asked if I need anything, and I usually reply that I’m alright, but people continuously show their gratitude in the simplest ways, for example; going out of there way to give me cooking cubes, cleaning my porch or paying for my taxi fair, to name a few. Did I mention this was daily occurrence? I sometimes believe it’s the novelty of being a “Forengi”, but I see the love and affection they show one another and it’s warming. Now, it doesn’t mean every person shares these sentiments or that everything is great. There are still ethnic conflicts and the occasional petty thefts, which plague many African communities; something that I will address later. Despite it all, these are some of the most genuine people, with genuine intentions, I have ever met.

IMG_0624_edited.jpg
IMG_0403_edited.jpgIMG_0433_edited.jpgIMG_0263_edited.jpgIMG_0487_edited.jpgIMG_0632_edited.jpgIMG_0024_edited1.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97