015: Photographing Me

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_0562.JPG

A few posts ago I mentioned that I had begun using photography as a form of meditation. Creating portraits as a way to document the dramatic and quickly shifting changes in my own mental space and the world around me. This is one of my early self portraits. The start of a project that documents my three generation family, my shifting relationship with my mother and my growing one with my daughter.

Fellow Steemit friends, artists and thinkers: how do you navigate the world of shifting boundaries? Of changing familyscapes? Of incorporating an artistic practice as a form of meditation.

I'd love to hear your thoughts and get to know you all better!

Sort:  

What a beautiful post. As a musician, music is sometimes part of my meditation. Navigating in a world of shifting boundaries... well, it's tough. I'm just out of college, and I feel like the whole world, inside and outside of my life, is transitioning into something a bit mysterious. My relationships are shifting, but I think I just appreciate the presence and the awareness. I take gratitude in standing in my own truth. The presence of the people with whom I have relationships... This world is so wild.. and I'm not here alone. I might not understand my role all the time, my space to exist in these shifting boundaries, but I'm only thinking about it and questioning because... I'm so present, I'm so alive, and I'm not alone. Appreciating that fact for a moment helps me bring it to my center.
and Therapy. Therapy rocks!

Thank you for your reply! I graduated college two years ago and that transition year is filled with so many changes. Your own awareness to the situation is lovely. Following you so I can learn more about your journey! There is nothing quite like realizing truly that youre not alone in the world and how interconnected you are to everything. Keep up the awesome work!

ALL OF THIS back to you! Thank you, and I hope to celebrate your journey moving forward here too!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69345.70
ETH 3342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74